DODGE RAM FORUM banner

'10 & '11 Factory Air Ride?

556 views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  Canadian Hemi Pride 
#1 ·
Hey all - Newbie to Ram Trucks. I am getting out of my GM curse and testing the waters with a used Dodge/Ram prior to taking a chance on another new rig. I have been shopping around for a 2010 or 2011 Laramie with some of the towing options.

Yesterday I looked at a very low mileage Laramie QuadCab with nearly every option I could imagine including the electric tow controller although there is no evidence of a 5th wheel ever being installed. The hitch receiver has obviously never had a hitch in it. While wiggling around underneath (looking for evidence of plowing, 5th wheeling or off-roading) I was surprised to find air bags in the rear coils complete with what appeared to be a reservoir tank on the frame and I presume lines leading to a compressor somewhere. I cannot find anything in Ram brochures of the year or discussions anywhere regarding this being factory equipment so therein lies my question - were inflatable air bags part of a trailering / towing package or would these be aftermarket? It seems strange someone would install aftermarket air bags on a truck that is never used for trailering. In fact, neither the bedliner nor the bed surface it protects look as though there has ever been anything in the back. Not a scratch or scuff. Moreover, I could not find a switch (or air nipple) to control ride height or weight compensation anywhere - is this an automatically controlled feature?

See less See more
#2 ·