DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Audio Questions (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=109826)

1CleanRam 04-09-2012 07:18 PM

Audio Questions
 
Looking at putting a system into my 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn Crew Cab without Alpine system.

Kenwood DDX 419 deck

Kenwood 5 channel amp

Door speakers and single 12" in Fox Box

My question is: do i need a radio interface like the c2r-chy4 (is this the correct one?) -there are 2 audio shops in town and 1 said i need it and the other said i didn't....just looking to clarify this. I apolagise if this has been asked before, thank you!

rtkman 04-10-2012 09:12 PM

I'd use one. You dont _have_ to have it but it saves hacking the factory wiring. It will give you the remote turn on etc and its plug and play. Do you have factory steering wheel controls?

1CleanRam 04-10-2012 09:17 PM

Yes i have the factory steering wheel controls. In my previous car (2001 Chrysler 300m) i bought a module that adapted the steering wheel controls with my kenwood single din deck. This should work, also, rtkman what did you pay for the c2r-chy4 being that you are Canadian? Thanks

rtkman 04-10-2012 10:01 PM

I bought my stuff at Sonic Electronics in the states. It was cheaper to buy it there and ship than to buy it here. ( I bought a nav unit too) I used teh SWI-RC for my steering wheel controls and it just plugs into the C2R-CHY4.

PAC C2R-CHY4 (C2R-CHY4v1): 1 @ $79.99
PAC SWI-RC: 1 @ $52.99

1CleanRam 04-10-2012 10:36 PM

Thank you for the info, I will look into it!

1CleanRam 04-11-2012 01:55 PM

From reading pac's website and google searching, I am understanding that the 2012 models need a different version? is this true? will the c2r-chy4v1 still work? thanks

rtkman 04-11-2012 07:45 PM

Yup as long as the revision is past 1.1.4a if you have the alpine system it will work.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger