DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Ram MPG Zone (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=237)
-   -   Gas Mileage not adding up (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=114060)

ouch1234 06-02-2012 11:25 AM

Gas Mileage not adding up

Anyone else have any complaints about the Hemi not adding up to the manufactures 14/19 mpg on their Ram 4x4 ? I'm a pretty soft footed driver these days and I'm only getting around 12.3 mpg around town. Best I've seen on the highway is about 16.3 mpg. Maybe I'm reading the instrument panel wrong, but I sure haven't seen any 14/19 mpg yet on my truck. My truck only has around 4k on it.

robplatt 06-02-2012 11:51 AM

I have an 11 Laramie as well, 14000 miles. At sea level I get around 15 in town, and around 19 on the freeway (i think).... Right now mine is in the shop and I have an 2012 ST for a rental that is getting around 18 in town and 22 on the freeway. Same amount of miles, both are QC 4x4. I'm trying to compare notes between the trucks to figure out why such a big difference. Besides the trim, and center console, the only thing that really stands out is the wheels. The rims are 17" on the ST, and my laramie's are 20". Not sure what else is different besides the auto 4x4 on the laramie.

My point is, it's confusing as all hell to me as well. And right now I noticed a big difference between a rental, and mine.

Hogking 06-02-2012 11:57 AM

I used to be anal about always checking my mpg. I think i'm getting in the low teens....but I just don't care anymore. I don't even check it anymore. I got over 5k miles on my truck and since day-one it has ran perfect! I mean it runs great! I have no complaints about this truck. Besides, I didn't buy it for the gas mileage. Enjoy it!

EVS1 06-02-2012 01:55 PM