DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.7 HEMI V8 (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=83)
-   -   Pro 2 Tune??? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=115412)

CoolBlueDude 06-19-2012 10:34 PM

Pro 2 Tune???

I read someone's personal review recently which pretty much said that when I buy a new performance tuner (such as the Diablo or Superchip) that unless I have had some experience with tuning/mechanics, I should expect to fork out many more hundreds of dollars to have to get a professional to tune it for me. I can not afford that to be honest. If I can't do the work myself then I will have to skip this important mod- which would be a big disappointment to be frank.

Any suggestions, advice, or general opinions from anyone that may be able to shed some light on this confusing topic help would be greatly appreciated. Trying to find what's right or wrong concerning mod's is like trying to walk through a labyrinth blindfolded...

FYI: I am leaning more towards the Diablo right now based on what I am reading on this forum.

Thanks!

CdnoilRAM 06-19-2012 11:28 PM

The canned tunes that come with the programmers are good on their own and support the basic mods like intake, exhaust, headers. You don't need ANY mechanical ability to run the basic tunes. If you get into more mods then you'll want a custom tune to take advantage of them. If you can operate a computer and are able to download/upload things you can update the unit and assuming you can follow directions written by a 5-year old you can install the tunes in your vehicle.

Here's the scoop on the two main programmers on here: