DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Power Wagon (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=236)
-   -   Mopar Auxillary Light Switch Panel (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=119354)

Txhillbilly 08-14-2012 03:37 PM

Mopar Auxillary Light Switch Panel
 
I don't know if you guy's know about these.I saw one for sale on ebay a while back,but never could get them to respond to an email.
I tried 3 different dealerships,and they had no clue about what I was talking about,but I finally found a parts guy smart enough to call the Mopar Accessories people,and he traced down the part #'s.

This set-up isn't cheap,but it'll look a lot better than having a bunch of switches all over your dash.
The switch panel was $113,and the wiring kit was $31.25,so it was over $150 after taxes.

It replaces the RAM panel that's in the lower center section of the dash.

http://i999.photobucket.com/albums/a...agon/001-2.jpg

http://i999.photobucket.com/albums/a...agon/002-3.jpg

Part# for the switch panel-
http://i999.photobucket.com/albums/a...agon/008-3.jpg

Part# for the wiring kit-
http://i999.photobucket.com/albums/a...agon/009-3.jpg

RansRAM 08-14-2012 04:05 PM

Cool find, will this work on our 1500's ? I know about the panel but thought is was for the 2500's. There is another thread on here about adapting this panel to the 1500's using some external relays. Anyway if it works let us know.

stubie82 08-14-2012 08:34 PM

That's awesome. To me 150 bones doesn't seem that bad. I mean, then you have everything right there for when you add lights. And like you said, no stupid looking switches. I think for that money it's a def. good upgrade.
Good catch there!

jacksonsnorth 08-14-2012 08:39 PM

Great find! I am really liking this if it would fit on my 1500. i had this panel on my 2500 dash. I have never seen it installed in a 1500 and am looking forward to it. Reps for the ground work man!
<<Subscribed>>>

battlerattle 08-15-2012 12:57 AM

So how does it wire into the system? Does ir come with relays? Very good find, but curious as to the wiring pain in order to get it to some auxiliary lights or a compressor?

Txhillbilly 08-15-2012 09:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by battlerattle (Post 866061)
So how does it wire into the system? Does ir come with relays? Very good find, but curious as to the wiring pain in order to get it to some auxiliary lights or a compressor?

Well,I really hate electical stuff with all these computer age vehicles.I'll probably enlist the help of a local Mopar mechanic when I get everything mounted,and the wires/relays ran.
It should be pretty simple and wire into the truck,it probably just uses a simple positve/ground/and a wire to the dash lighting.
There are 7 pin connectors on the backside of the switch panel,3 on one side and 4 on the other.

Mopar said this part fits any 1500/2500/3500 09-up vehicles.

jacksonsnorth 08-15-2012 09:48 PM

Am really waiting with baited breath here to see that installed and get your heads up on the install and any hassles you came across.

battlerattle 08-16-2012 12:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Txhillbilly (Post 866679)
Well,I really hate electical stuff with all these computer age vehicles.I'll probably enlist the help of a local Mopar mechanic when I get everything mounted,and the wires/relays ran.
It should be pretty simple and wire into the truck,it probably just uses a simple positve/ground/and a wire to the dash lighting.
There are 7 pin connectors on the backside of the switch panel,3 on one side and 4 on the other.

Mopar said this part fits any 1500/2500/3500 09-up vehicles.

Please do a full write up once you have it in. I am curious as to how it sets up. You said it plugs into the factory harness? So that would lead me to believe there is somewhere under hood is a place to connect relays. I am not looking to running a home made wiring harness thru the dash if I dont have too.

Txhillbilly 08-16-2012 07:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by battlerattle (Post 867019)
Please do a full write up once you have it in. I am curious as to how it sets up. You said it plugs into the factory harness? So that would lead me to believe there is somewhere under hood is a place to connect relays. I am not looking to running a home made wiring harness thru the dash if I dont have too.

No,I didn't say it plugs into a factory wiring harness under the dash.Your auxillary lights will be wired into the wiring kit (2nd photo in 1st post),there is a small plug that the wires go into,and it plugs into the back of the switch panel.
I think the 3 post on the back of the panel are for the Pos/Neg/Dash lights,and the 4 on the other side of the plug panel are for the 4 switches/lights.
I'll write everything up on the install whenever I put my lights on.

battlerattle 08-16-2012 07:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Txhillbilly (Post 867347)
No,I didn't say it plugs into a factory wiring harness under the dash.Your auxillary lights will be wired into the wiring kit (2nd photo in 1st post),there is a small plug that the wires go into,and it plugs into the back of the switch panel.
I think the 3 post on the back of the panel are for the Pos/Neg/Dash lights,and the 4 on the other side of the plug panel are for the 4 switches/lights.
I'll write everything up on the install whenever I put my lights on.

Thanks for clarifying!:LOL:


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger