DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Exhaust (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=145)
-   -   Muffler swap, Will it hurt me?? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=119445)

Smitty21 08-15-2012 01:21 PM

Muffler swap, Will it hurt me??

I got a turbo muffler laying around that I'm thinking about swapping for my stock muffler on my pickup. The turbo muffler is a 2" in and out muffler and the stock is of course a 2 1/2". Would this hurt me at all to swap out? I'm thinking it would give me a little better sound than the stock muffler and would cost only a few bucks to put in. I just didn't know if the flow would be a lot worse. My thought is it would be about the same, but wanted a second opinion.

dj1 08-15-2012 06:04 PM

I did a flowmaster delta flow 40 series on my 08 1500, i had a shop make me a 18" piece flared at the back to fit over my stock 3" pipe. while installing it i notice the factory muffler was 3" in and 2 1/2" inches out so i cut out the 2 1/2 piece and now have 3" all the way and i have noticed a gain on my low end. If i were you i wouldn't downsize it sell the 2" on craigslist and got to a auto parts store and get a cherry bomb or a thrush that will fit and it should help a little with power and alot with sound

MF2000 08-17-2012 07:51 PM

I think the 2" is way too small. The muffler design has a lot to do with the flow capabilities too. The stock muffler is very restrictive. I'd recommend getting one the same size as the exhaust pipe or larger. You don't want your muffler being the bottleneck. If you want a quieter muffler, buy one that is as long as stock or longer. Longer means quieter and shorted means the opposite. Good luck.:smileup:

Smitty21 08-20-2012 04:24 PM