DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.7 HEMI V8 (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=83)
-   -   2006 Ram 1500 Cortex 3950 (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=120623)

slipknut 08-31-2012 11:56 PM

2006 Ram 1500 Cortex 3950
 
So I was pretty excited to get my new Cortex 3950, that is until I tried to get it to work.

First I go through the registering the product online and that's where the trouble begins...not a good start. After picking Ram 1500 as my vehicle model it only has 2007 as the choice for year. Ram 2500 has all the years, Ram 1500 only has 2007.
So I log in and download the updater. Didn't do something right, had to uninstall and do it all over again but still won't let me choose 2006 for my model year. At least I can log in to the udater and change my profile there.
Speaking of that, when I log on to superchips.com it won't show my profile, only ads to their own products. It says I'm logged in but doesn't really help much.
I get the product updated after about an hour trying so I trust that when the unit says it's updated I assume it is going to work. Wrong!
When I plug it in to the truck it saves my stock file 1 and 2 so I think "great, time to play" only to get to the end of the process where it tells me vehicle calibration not on file. WTF!
Since I'm visiting my parents away from my home I thought I would go online to update the unit...again.
Now I log on to superchips.com, download the updater, register the product and jump through the same hoops and it won't let me log on to the updater. Says I'm not registered.
Huge waste of time. Far from plug and play. I'm logged on to the website, product is registered but won't let me update.

I guess I'll send the unit back if it's this much trouble updating. Time to try the diablo. Too bad, i was looking forward to using superchips. Major failure.

Anyone else have these issues. Seems like i just wasted 400 bucks.

Chunkem 09-01-2012 12:26 AM

Let us know how you make out and please keep us updated.....

slipknut 09-01-2012 11:59 PM

I guess I can't say anything bad about the actual device so far, but not being able to get it to work is frustrating.
The problem is the registration and updating process. The website could use some work so the products would be easier activate. Something that is plug and play would be nice.
Got a little closer to getting it to update today...but then the USB portal timed out before the update finished...so I started the process again but the updater told me to try at a later date. Bad time to try on a long weekend I suppose.

slipknut 09-10-2012 06:30 PM

Frustration
 
Well I've been trying to get this thing updated for close to two weeks now. There's definitely issues with the update process. Anyone else have these problems. I was told to connect manually to the interenet, turn off firewalls, etc. but this only made the updater worse. Doesn't work at all now. Next step will be to send it to superchips so they can update it in house.
The part that gets me is that it is brand new! And it's not just plug and play. My advise to anyone researching tuners is to go with the diablo. Wish I had.

slipknut 09-10-2012 06:47 PM

Oh ya, I also spent eight hours trying to update the unit, reconfigure my computer, trying this and that, sitting in the truck, retrying this and that. Not much fun.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger