DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.7 HEMI V8 (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=83)
-   -   2012 Torque Converter Change (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=128438)

mgh 12-17-2012 09:46 AM

2012 Torque Converter Change
 
Looks like Chrysler made a change for 2012 trucks that will cause a major problem. The bolts that attach the torque converter to the flex plate are larger than years past. So if you are ordering a TC, make sure you let the shop know that you have a '12. There are 2 things that you can do in order to install an old style TC, drill and tap the TC to the new bolt size, or buy a flex plate and TC bolts for a '09-'11 truck.

jlibert 12-17-2012 11:02 AM

thanks for the info. I wonder if this affects all '12's? It seems like a few 2012 guys are running aftermarket converters without mention of any modifications.

dusterman 12-20-2012 07:12 PM

You got to be kidding me. I just ordered a 2800 stall for mine from edge now I have to worry about this. Great just f*** ing great. Add this on top of 400 dollars labor. Now I'm pissed at myself for even getting into this mess

HemiLonestar 12-20-2012 08:28 PM

I would recommend crawling under and pulling a bolt just to see what size it is. Then call Edge to see if they can do it there.

dusterman 12-20-2012 08:47 PM

The stall has already been shipped... I emailed Andre earlier about this. And he says he hasn't had any issues with late model hemis. So I asked him what about 2012 trucks. And has he got any orders with them. Cause looking at this forum I don't think there is one 2012 hemi with one yet

dusterman 12-20-2012 10:05 PM

Just to show how great edge converters customer service is . Andre emailed me back and said he has sold a lot of 2012 ram stall converters and had no problems reported back to him. So my question is what converter company were you using to have this issue

mgh 12-21-2012 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dusterman (Post 964521)
Just to show how great edge converters customer service is . Andre emailed me back and said he has sold a lot of 2012 ram stall converters and had no problems reported back to him. So my question is what converter company were you using to have this issue

It was an Edge TC. The '12 had metric 10X1.5 bolts and the old Hemis are 8X1.0. If you try to install a TC with the 8X1.0 bolts the holes in the flex plate are too large. Also, the '12 bolts were a few mm longer.

dusterman 12-21-2012 10:18 AM

What transmission did you order from on the website plus. You need to contact Andre about this issue so it doesn't keep happening. Cause as far as he knows nothing's wrong

dusterman 12-21-2012 11:41 AM

Hello Kyle,
I tried to call you, and got a disconnect message.

The bolts included are 5/16 nf x .5". These are slightly smaller then the flex plate holes, but are fine. I can be reached at 805-277-7305 with any questions, or concerns.

Andre
----- Original Message -----
From: Kyle Wiseman
To: Andre@Edge
Sent: Friday, December 21, 2012 7:22 AM
Subject: Re: Message from Edge Racing Converters

So I need to know what bolt pattern was sent to me

Sent from my iPhone

mgh 12-21-2012 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dusterman (Post 964806)
What transmission did you order from on the website plus. You need to contact Andre about this issue so it doesn't keep happening. Cause as far as he knows nothing's wrong

You can take the dust cover off that is between the motor and trans, it is just 8 14mm bolts. With that off you can see your flex plate, turn the motor over until you see one of the TC bolts. If it is 14mm, than you have an old style flex plate, if it is 18mm, than you have the new one.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger