DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   5.2L V8 Specific Topics (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=172)
-   -   need help brothers (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=128945)

justaplumber 12-24-2012 03:47 AM

need help brothers
 
Hey how is everyone merry christmas,up wraping gifts. Well my truck has been hard to start past two days . I just replaced the battery but today after running 5miles i put the truck in park it stopped running . Battery is good truck hss gas i puynantreatment in it last week . Its trying to turn over but just wont think the gas pump is bad or filter issue.? So whats a easy way tobtrouble shoot or any ideas yall seem damn knowledgable and im just a plumber/hvac guy. Thanks merry xmas

RamTech 12-24-2012 11:08 AM

Is it a cranking or starting problem? I'm not sure which way to steer you since you tried a battery (indicating a cranking issue) and you're asking about the fuel system (indicating a starting problem). If the cranking speed is good, I would check fuel pressure and volume after the priming shot and during cranking.

justaplumber 12-29-2012 11:46 PM

thanks ramtech but!!!
 
Thanks for the reply ramtech , so i dropped the tank and replaced the whole pump moduel wjich was $219.00 at autozone . It was very easy to install with the proper tools also 15mm socket whichseems to be the go to size. But iinstalled they new pump got the truck running but my gas gaugeisnt working now im 90% sure the float isnt stuck ive hit every bump possible so . Do you or anyone know what else it coild be or have anyone had isues with the new wire harness that goes from 6 to 4 pins?? Also does anyone recommend a way to get better fuel mileage and how or what is a good way to get more horsepower .?? Also what is or recommended for a better stonger transmission that wont break the bank??thanks to all who readnthis and reply i am a plumber hvac tech so i can answer any questions on that subject happy new year

GTyankee 12-29-2012 11:59 PM

If the gas gauge worked before, It sounds like when you changed out the fuel pump & were reinstalling the tank, the wire that goes to the gauge was not plugged in all the way, or it may be just the wire itself pulled away from the connector.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger