DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - Dodge Cummins Diesel (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Buying a programer help (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=129165)

Culrich 12-27-2012 03:15 AM

Buying a programer help

I have been saving up for a programer for my 2001 dodge ram 2500. This is my first time buying a programmer but I would like a nice top of the line one. I really like the smarty and am a fan of banks but am not sure which kind to get. If I could get some help on which programers are best for my dodge or which ones affect my dodge in different aspects and maybe the best places to order them from I would be very greatful.

Wandell 12-27-2012 10:43 AM

I have no experience with the 5.9, but for the 6.7's H&S Performance by far, make the best programmers. Check out their website at www.hsperformance.com

RugbyRef 01-02-2013 12:54 PM

I just installed an H&S Mini-Maxx in my '12 Ram 2500. It all depends on what you want to do or what performance gains you are seeking. With mine I was looking, not only for the requisite horsepower and gas mileage gains, but also for other "tweaks" that the Mini-Maxx provides. The Smarty programmer can give you the HP and mileage gains, but I'm not sure if it can do anything else, plus it does not have a heads up display like H&S offers. Truth be told...I was sold on H&S from the get go, so I did not research most of the other offerings out there.

Tim

Culrich 01-03-2013 05:02 AM

Thanks for the input but H&S does not make any products for my truck. After doing some research I think im going to go with smarty. unless anyone has any reason why i should not to. Is ebay the cheapest place to find it? or is there a better website to buy it at?

skinnysfd 01-03-2013 10:45 PM