DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Ram General Discussion (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Towing camper with 1500 (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=135367)

cueist 03-05-2013 12:55 PM

Towing camper with 1500

I have a 2009 1500 QC 5.7l, towing a 29ft. bumper-pull camper (loaded aprox. 6000lbs). I have the towing package and 1000# WD sway control setup.

My situation is when towing, transmission temp climbs over 195F peak, but repeatedly drops to around 175F, and the bigger issue is trailer sway to the point of almost loss of control. I'm a veteran at towing trailers, but this is my first with a 1500.

Does anyone have suggestion on a transmission cooler option and what I can possibly install to suspension to stabilize this towing scenario?

emmyshemi 03-05-2013 01:21 PM

As far as suspension help, the air-lift 1000 air bags for the rear coil springs really helped me level the rear when towing mine. It was a easy install, and well worth the investment( under $100). A night and day difference when towing that kind of weight.

TRCM 03-05-2013 04:54 PM

I have the towing package on mine, and it has a transmission cooler. Yours should to if you truly have the towing package vice just a hitch.

I tow a trailer similar in weight (~ 6000 lbs, but only 25' long - yeah, she's old....like 1976 vintage), and when I towed it ~ 110 miles just this weekend, my trans temp never went above 130 deg @ 60 mph, and it was not flat terrain.

I think you meant 10000# on the WD hitch...LOL. I also have NO trailer sway at all when towing mine, and my truck is 100% stock.

FZBear10 03-05-2013 06:09 PM

How much tongue weight do you have? When there is too little tongue weight the trailer will gradually sway more and more with higher speed until it gets dangerous.

Butter 03-05-2013 10:50 PM