DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Adding GPS to my radio (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=137478)

edgarj 03-26-2013 05:43 PM

Adding GPS to my radio
 
Hello guys:

I have a Laramie 2009, that I bought from my father, it only have about 23k miles. It came with the touch screen radio, but have no GPS, will it be possible to add it?? If yes what I need.

Thanks
Edgar

astroman54 03-26-2013 10:52 PM

The short answer is Yes.. The long answer is that you need to replace the head unit in the dash. There are two models to choose from:

1. RHB - should be almost plug and play with current Uconnect (asuming you have it) after you replace the roof sirius antenna to the sirius/gps from a 2011 or newer truck. It has a better reputation for routing shorter routes especially in Canada.

2. RHR - Will need and additional cable installed and removal of your current Uconnect module. It will also need the same roof antenna change out as above. Since it has the Uconnect built into it, you can route a new destination while moving by voice commands. Something that you can't do with the RHB. I havent' had any issues with routing with the RHR, but have heard of many stories on here where they did.

In either case you will need the high speed bus model.

I wrote up the install of the RHR into my 2009 and you can search for it here.

Andy

cueist 03-27-2013 01:57 AM

You will need to replace the dash unit. I recently upgraded to the RER touchscreen navigation and added the GPS antenna as well. I purchased the entire package /harnesses online and it took me about an hour. The additional backup camera install took a bit longer.

Feel free to contact me if you want the specifics on my purchase, experiences with the project. I have a couple of pics highlighting the wiring connections.

GTyankee 03-27-2013 02:18 AM

down in the right hand corner of your radio, there will be 3 letters

you will need to change out the unit if it is RES, REN, or RBZ, none of those have Navigation if that is what you want to have
Hopefully you do have Satellite radio & Uconnect for making cell phone calls
any radio that you get needs to have the HIGH SPEED BUS

The RHB, RHR, & RER radios all have Navigation
the RER & RHR are completely self contained except for antennas & microphone & use NAVTEQ navigation

The RHB uses Garmin navigation & you need the Satellite & Uconnect kit that comes with some RES, REN, & RBZ radios
The RHB is preferred by people in Canada because of the Garmin Nav is more accurate

edgarj 03-29-2013 09:26 PM

Thanks for the info, will check what type of radio I have a start from there.

edgarj 04-02-2013 05:10 PM

I just checked and it have REN, so I guess that for now, GPS is out of question. Too much too spend to have it.

Ok now anothe question. will it be posible to add DVD so my kid don't ask, "are we there yet"

LOLO
Thanks
Edgar


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger