DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Ram General Discussion (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   2000 3500 has scary rear brakes, will it stop or not? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=140872)

Big Dog 2008 04-29-2013 09:51 PM

2000 3500 has scary rear brakes, will it stop or not?

I work for an excavation company that has a 2000 3500 with a full size utility tool box. This truck has been to the dealer 6 times and still has issues. The way I understand it, the rear brakes are to engage first. This truck does it backwards
and gets our pucker factor going. Could there be an issue with the hydroboost system or proportioning valve if it has one. All the brakes and components are brand new and the abs seems to be working as it should.

huntergreen 05-01-2013 11:09 AM

that sounds backwards to me., but i am not a mechanic. my 04 3500 cummins went through front brakes before the rear.

gonefishin776 05-01-2013 11:16 AM

Idk if it's different for big trucks but i think it's front brakes activate before/more than rear.

huntergreen 05-01-2013 11:17 AM

also, i doubt i would drive a vehicle if i wasn't sure if it was going to stop or not.

dodge man 05-01-2013 05:02 PM

I don't get it, as far as I know, the brakes are suppose to engage at the same time, but as a rule the front brakes do more work.

huntergreen 05-02-2013 12:23 AM

maybe ram tech will jump in and give you some expert advice.

RadioFlyer 05-02-2013 12:48 AM