DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Ram General Discussion (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Truck bed/fender protector? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=141846)

Jonnycat 05-10-2013 04:30 AM

Truck bed/fender protector?

I'm new to the world of trucks and am wondering if anyone has a suggestion for protecting the outside/fenders of the bed for when I go to get a load of gravel.

I'm a little worried that the materials loader will drop some gravel along the side of my bed (I have Ram Boxes so it's a slightly narrow target) and scratch up my shiny paint. Any suggestions for a heavy material or blanket to lay across the top of the ram boxes and hang over the sides? Am I insane for even asking this because it is not an issue?

Thanks in advance for the advice and education!

highlandchef 05-10-2013 10:26 AM

I don't thing such a thing exists but I have an idea.

Go to Home Depot or Lowes, they sell rubber mat in rolls to protect floors. Get two lengths the same as your truck bed. Magnets or grommets and hooks could be used to secure one edge of the mat inside the truck box and the rest of the mat would lay over the top and down the side of the truck.

Hemiman345 05-10-2013 10:47 AM

Or go to harbor freight and get some moving blankets. There cheap and work well to protect fenders

battlerattle 05-10-2013 02:11 PM

Just take it to one of those places that do the clear bra's. They can do the same with your fenders, just be prepared to replace it every few years to keep it looking good.

Inferno10 05-10-2013 02:57 PM

Id go with some moving blankets and some good size magnets. Just drape the blankets over the fenders and use the magnets to hold them up from the outside of the blanket. Cheap and simple.

Boghdoir 05-11-2013 10:37 AM