DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Ram General Discussion (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   97 Dodge 3500 under water. Can I save it? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=146912)

sweetfarms 07-06-2013 11:35 PM

97 Dodge 3500 under water. Can I save it?

I bought the truck new with the Diesel engine and 5 speed. Only 67K miles. To make a long story short, I get stuck on the road going to our river sandbar and could not get it out before the river came up due to a flash flood upstream. Any suggestions on what to do next? Thanks, Ken

GTyankee 07-07-2013 12:00 AM

you can rebuild a diesel engine enough times to drive a million miles
as long as you take care of it, it will take care of you

I am not a diesel mechanic, but i am thinking
if your engine was under water, you may have to pull the Head off & check it out for cracks & cleanliness in the cylinders
the fuel system may have to be flushed & the tank emptied & cleaned
injectors will need to be checked out
oil & filter changed

suspension will need to be greased at a minimum
you will need to check out & grease the axle bearings

Gen1dak 07-07-2013 12:28 PM

Plenty of drying time.
Drain and replace all lube in driveline (including rear axle) parts and engine.
Fuel system will need a complete purging. DO NOT spin engine over until you are certain there is no water in the cylinders. If you do and have water it'll blow the head off or destroy the rods, pistons, and crank, possibly kick a rod out the side of the block.

Asur 07-07-2013 01:41 PM

How high did the water hit the truck, was is submerged? or half way? how long ago was this and has anything been done to the truck since then?.

scrappy 07-07-2013 02:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sweetfarms (Post 1143813)