DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   2013 Dodge Ram Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=241)
-   -   Garage door opener (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=147329)

Clarkgriswald 07-12-2013 09:11 AM

Garage door opener
 
For the life of me I can not get it programmed to the truck. First off do you need to have the truck running? I have cleared the channels and then held my GO a couple of inches from the home link but all the EVIC will say is that the button is trained. I have held the buttons for a couple of minutes too. What am I doing wrong?:doh:

Thanks for your help.

Monster5601 07-12-2013 09:35 AM

From what you are saying, it sounds like the RAM button was trained. When I trained my truck, it seemed the training was almost instantaneous.

Did you try to have your door opener learn the RAM button?

tev9999 07-12-2013 09:39 AM

Never had a problem with mine. I don't think the truck was running when I did it. I just held the button on the truck for about 10 seconds, then pressed the button on my opener's remote and held both for another 10 seconds or so. Never noticed any update message, but it worked on the first try.

Grimass 07-12-2013 09:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tev9999 (Post 1148187)
I just held the button on the truck for about 10 seconds, then pressed the button on my opener's remote and held both for another 10 seconds or so.

This. This. This. THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There was another thread about this one here somewhere -- but so many people skip the step of pressing the button of a WORKING garage door opener at the same time wile programming!!!!

When you do it correctly, the EVIC will tell you.

shaner82 07-12-2013 10:20 AM

1. Clear all your buttons in your truck
2. Hold the button in your truck while at the same time holding the button of a working garage door opener remote
3. Once the Evic says trained, run into your garage and press the learn button on the back of your garage door opener (usually a red button)
4. Now quickly go back to your truck and press the opener button in your truck twice quickly.

It should now work.

tev9999 07-12-2013 10:23 AM

To clarify my process, I have the old style dip switch opener - no need to teach it anything.

JaxLoki 07-12-2013 11:46 AM

Closing my truck door solved my issue. Couldn't program it with the door open.

nikeman 07-12-2013 04:07 PM

I had this problem also and started a thread about it. I still have not been able to program mine. Ill try the suggestions here next time I have a chance. Picture me running back and forth from my garage to my truck like a dumb ass about 15 times for no reason!

Scott H 07-12-2013 05:11 PM

I had the same problem. Think of it as (STEP 1) programming the truck remote to match your garage door remote per manual instructions, THEN, (STEP 2) programming your garage door opener to accept the trucks remote signal with the learn button on your opener motor (mine was inside the light cover).

Once you've trained the trucks remote(STEP 1) press the learn button on your opener motor till led lights up then get in truck and hold truck remote button down till it works. Both steps seem to require holding the button for a long, long time.

Hope this helps.

Grubrunner 07-12-2013 06:25 PM

My Apple garage door and its rolling-code would not sync with my truck according to Homelink®

I had to purchase the item below for it to work.

http://www.frys.com/product/5663371

Works great since.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger