DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Electrical (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=175)
-   -   v8 to V10 swap (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=152309)

Baumann01ram 09-05-2013 08:38 PM

v8 to V10 swap
 
okay so i am swapping a 8.l v10 out of a 97 2500 over into my 94 1500 that originally had a 5.9l. i understand i have to swap the whole drivetrain trans/transfercase/axles along with it but my question is do i have to swap the wiring harnesses, i have swapped the guauge clusters and computer but ive been wondering if the harnesses are the same that go through the firewall into the cab? any help would be greatly appreciated! thanks

maust1 09-05-2013 09:27 PM

I believe your going from OBD1 to OBD2 and you most likely will need to swap the harness.

Baumann01ram 09-05-2013 09:40 PM

Okay, yeah the obd ports are different, so i need to swap out the complete harness out of the cab?

maust1 09-06-2013 02:33 AM

You could change out the plugs and hope it all works or you could swap the harness and know it will work. If I were doing the work I would change the harness.

Baumann01ram 09-08-2013 02:27 PM

Well i went ahead and swapped harnesses, guess we'll see if it works when i get the motor all hooked back up

maust1 09-08-2013 05:52 PM

Good luck I hope it works.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger