DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Public Safety (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=91)
-   -   Old lightbar hooked up to AC? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=152763)

Thebestestdrummer 09-11-2013 10:58 PM

Old lightbar hooked up to AC?
 
so ive found a cool old solid blue lightbar , working, for real cheap. Since i cant run lights yet, i thought it would be pretty cool to hang in my basement (ive got a cool music studio with funky lights already.) I think it would be cool to hang it somewhere and at the flip of a switch it turns on.

Plus when i can actually run with lights, im going to get some new LED models.

i know i can run some transformers and make it low voltage, but is there an easier and cheaper way? or am i stuck to simply haning it and not turing it on? haha .

thanks.

RogerRamJet 09-11-2013 11:52 PM

How many amps will it be pulling. Here's a cheap converter, but it'll only do 6 amps.

Thebestestdrummer 09-12-2013 10:47 AM

uhh, i have no idea.. its on craigslist. so i haven't actually seen it yet. is there a usual amount or anything? haha

davidgcet 09-12-2013 10:49 AM

you say old, does it have rotators or strobes? with rotators you need a DC power supply capable of 30-50A continuous duty. With strobes it can be considerably less at maybe 20A continuous. in either case, no you cannot just plug it in to AC power.

you cheapest solution would be to wire it up to a car battery and recharge the battery when not in use. BUT don't expect it to run for hours on end unless you have a big battery!

davidgcet 09-12-2013 10:54 AM

http://fortwayne.craigslist.org/pts/3934148705.html is this the one, if it is this one or this style then you need a BIG DC power supply to run it. IIRC when we installed those we used a 40A fuse and the draw was around 35A. you can't just get a 35A PS though, you need a 50A in order to handle the 35A continuous draw when it is on.

Thebestestdrummer 09-12-2013 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by davidgcet (Post 1198274)
you say old, does it have rotators or strobes? with rotators you need a DC power supply capable of 30-50A continuous duty. With strobes it can be considerably less at maybe 20A continuous. in either case, no you cannot just plug it in to AC power.

you cheapest solution would be to wire it up to a car battery and recharge the battery when not in use. BUT don't expect it to run for hours on end unless you have a big battery!


link is below. And yes, i know that i cant literally just plug it in, the answer that i was looking for was what RogerRamJet posted, that quote is below.
I would rather not use a battery, if it just stays off and hangs somewhere thats cool, but if i can get it to light up thats even better! haha


Quote:

Originally Posted by davidgcet (Post 1198277)
http://fortwayne.craigslist.org/pts/3934148705.html is this the one, if it is this one or this style then you need a BIG DC power supply to run it. IIRC when we installed those we used a 40A fuse and the draw was around 35A. you can't just get a 35A PS though, you need a 50A in order to handle the 35A continuous draw when it is on.

it is actually this http://fortwayne.craigslist.org/pts/4016584111.html

Quote:

Originally Posted by RogerRamJet (Post 1198115)
How many amps will it be pulling. Here's a cheap converter, but it'll only do 6 amps.


davidgcet 09-13-2013 03:46 PM

yep, that is a Jetstream with rotators and flashers and a power hog. that 6A power supply will not handle it, you need a heavy duty power supply and unless you find one used you will pay 3-400.00 for that.

Thebestestdrummer 09-13-2013 11:55 PM

ahh, so basically unless i want to fork over some serious dough, its just going to be wall art? haha

RogerRamJet 09-14-2013 12:28 AM

Wall art... yeah, pretty much.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger