DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Ram Wheels And Tires (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=129)
-   -   Winter Tires and TPMS? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=153785)

faustus 09-24-2013 11:52 AM

Winter Tires and TPMS?
 
I am intending to get winter tires with steel rims for my 2013 RAM 1500.
Winter tires are mandatory here in Quebec.

Now, the dealer wants $100.- for each tire pressure sensor ... so that's $400.- plus tax. Ouch .... expensive!!

However, I could get a set of 4 OEM sensors from ebay for ca. $90.-.

1.) Does anybody know what the frequency is that the TPMS works on? 433MHz? 315MHz?

2.) Does anybody know if one can deactivate the TPMS if no sensors are installed in the winter tires? I am thinking just in case something goes wrong with the ebay ones ...

3.) Has anybody had bad/good experiences with TPMS sensors from ebay?

By the way, I have 2013 RAM 1500 4x4 SLT, Quad cab, 6.4 foot bed with 17 inch wheels.

DarthRam 09-24-2013 12:10 PM

If you have a Discount Tire or any big tire store go there and see what they will charge. I almost had to replace one of mine and I think they quoted me $50 each. Still $200 but if you need them you need them. If you buy the tires/wheels from them they may give you a deal.

Most of the eBay stuff is OK. You just need to order from someone who has a lot of positive feedback, not selling used ones, and selling MOPAR OEM sensors.

The TPMS system can't be disabled. I think it is Federal Law to have them on all vehicles manufactured after 2006. Now, I know you are in Canada and that may be different.

Radak04 09-24-2013 02:40 PM

My research says they are the 433 MHz ones.

I ordered these from ebay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=141065242452

They haven't arrived yet.

They will be going in my 2013 sport with aftermarket 18" rims and Goodyear Duratrac tires. That should get me through a Saskatchewan winter.

DarthRam 09-24-2013 03:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Radak04 (Post 1207122)
My research says they are the 433 MHz ones.

I ordered these from ebay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=141065242452

They haven't arrived yet.

They will be going in my 2013 sport with aftermarket 18" rims and Goodyear Duratrac tires. That should get me through a Saskatchewan winter.


That is a great price.

faustus 09-24-2013 03:28 PM

Yes, these ones are the ones I was thinking of ordering from ebay.

According to the Mopar web site the sensors for my truck are the following:

http://www.mopar.com/part/56029398AB?s=354649&i=2564932

Part #: 56029398AB

So, these ones on ebay would match ....

flyersfan2788 09-24-2013 04:23 PM

You can run the tires without the TPMS of course, just be aware of the
consequences.

I had a 09 Ford Flex (before the Ram) with TPMS in it, and bought winter tires without and had them installed where I bought them on the advice of the tire shop owner.

All the Ford did was chime at me once on start up, and then the TPMS light stayed lit until I turned it off.

I chose to put up with this as Ford wanted over $400 for the sensors.

According to the owners manual, The Ram's TPMS light will flash at you. That is all.

As far as I know, the TPMS can't be disabled unless you really work at it...

If you feel you can put up with that, then have at it.

I am going to run my all-seasons this winter as they are brand new, but next year I will look into new winter's. Probably without the sensors....


*I do not suggest breaking the law in your province, state or country...if it is mandated, then do what ya gotta do!*

C17LoadMaster 09-24-2013 04:33 PM

I am in Quebec as well. Just purchased my tires and wheels. I opted to not go for the sensors as I can definetly put up with the chime and light at start up for the sake of a couple hundred bucks. Not sure about the Ram but I know that is all that happens with the wifes 08 Nitro.

crabjoe 09-24-2013 06:53 PM

I've heard of people putting all 4 of their TPMS sensors inside their spare and running regular tire stems to avoid the light..

Not sure if that works on most vehicles because some TPMS sensors only activate when the tire spins...

DarthRam 09-24-2013 07:11 PM

The 2013s will ding and give you a generic warning light every time you start the truck. If you scroll down to the tire pressure screen on the menu whatever tire is not reading will have a red mark on it. I had, what I thought, was a bad sensor. Turns out the tire needed re torquing. Personally I would go with the eBay set. If you get used to the warning ding you might ignore something important.

faustus 09-25-2013 11:02 AM

Thanks everyone for all the information.

I decided to go with the ebay sensors .... I just ordered the following set.

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/141072492861?...84.m1439.l2649

Once they are installed I will post an update and let you folks know if everything worked out.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger