DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   5.7L (345 cu in) HEMI V8 Specific Topics (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=196)
-   -   Oil Catch Can?? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=157936)

cnvf250 11-08-2013 09:30 PM

Oil Catch Can??

So, How important is putting on an oil catch can on 2014 5.7 Ram. Has anyone done it on a one yet. It doesn’t look very complicated. If it is truly necessary I will do it.

dbuzz77 11-08-2013 10:24 PM

i'm just working on mine. they say it steals octane from your gas,especially if you add mods and are looking for performance

goldfly727 11-09-2013 12:06 AM

I'm new to owning a Ram. Used to have a Duramax. Loving my Ram.

Anyway....what's the purpose of the oil catch can?

teflon74 11-09-2013 12:56 AM

it removes the oil particulate in the air from the egr valve. Keeps the intake plenum way cleaner. I have one sitting on the bench waiting for my new limited.

Hermes1 11-09-2013 12:12 PM

The best mod you can do for not a lot of $$ and easy install. Here is a link to
my install: http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=153544 There are quite a few threads on this information packed forum on catch cans, worth checking out.

Silvercreek 11-20-2013 05:27 AM

I'm not doubting that the catch can keeps the throttle body and the intake clean but I wonder who and why the catch can was invented if it was only for that reason. Not knowing anything about the 5.7 Hemi engine I can't comment on any real benefits of a catch can.

Mate2011RT 11-20-2013 09:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cnvf250 (Post 1241295)
So, How important is putting on an oil catch can on 2014 5.7 Ram. Has anyone done it on a one yet. It doesn’t look very complicated. If it is truly necessary I will do it.