DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   2009 Dodge Ram Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=80)
-   -   Advice on better gas mileage for Hemi (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=158948)

dennismonsewicz 11-20-2013 04:43 PM

Advice on better gas mileage for Hemi

Hello, I am a newb to the Hemi motor community and was wondering if there were any best practices on getting better gas mileage out of my Hemi? My truck is a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT Big Horn Edition with the Hemi v8. I already know about adjusting my driving habits; I just didn't know if there were any mods I can do to get a little better gas mileage out of the engine.

06PowerWagon 11-20-2013 05:22 PM

4wd or 2wd ... Need more info .. axle ratio...
You cant do like 75mph more like 58-62mph.. and Cold Air Take... Exhaust....turner...

dennismonsewicz 11-20-2013 05:26 PM

4wd and I will have to look up the axle ratio for you

yamifz1 11-20-2013 05:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 06PowerWagon (Post 1250311)
4wd or 2wd ... Need more info .. axle ratio...
You cant do like 75mph more like 58-62mph.. and Cold Air Take... Exhaust....turner...

He is right on the money, slow down, CAI, exhaust and a tuner will all theoretically help...except the exhaust, CAI and tuner will make you want to put your foot into it thus ruining your gas mileage..:doh:

06PowerWagon 11-20-2013 05:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yamifz1 (Post 1250317)
He is right on the money, slow down, CAI, exhaust and a tuner will all theoretically help...except the exhaust, CAI and tuner will make you want to put your foot into it thus ruining your gas mileage..:doh:

She*** ... :D :158: But I mean I also have a Power Wagon (2500) SLT and I don't do 75mph on the highway or my gas would be gone! I cruise control it at 58/62ish....

dennismonsewicz 11-20-2013 05:33 PM