DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 4.7 Liter V8 (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   engine swap on 4.7L (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=40511)

douce 07-24-2009 04:17 PM

engine swap on 4.7L
 
yo i got an '05 4.7L 4x4 with the 6spd manual quad cab. i'm lookin to do some work when i get back from my tour in iraq. I was told by local dodge dealer that the viper engine would mount right up to my 6spd manual. does anyone know if that is true? or does anyone know if the 6.1L hemi would mount up. lookin to do anything to get more from my truck, preciate it.

Toms Blue Ram 1500 07-24-2009 05:13 PM

Not real sure on the bolt pattern , but I'll tell ya , I'm a lover of the 6.1 . Have a 300 SRT8 . Runs great and gets decent mileage as long as you drive it sensibly . 15 mpg around town , just under 23 mpg on the road . Not bad for 425 horsepower . Don't think you'll get that with a Viper engine .

cdiddy602 01-12-2012 12:52 AM

2003 4.7L swap to newer 2008 4.7L what do i need to do
 
well i blew my 4.7 in my 03 and i found an engine from an 08 so , my question is what modifcations do i need to do to make this engine run proper??? please help!!! and does the tranny bolt up!! its an automatic

snrusnak 01-12-2012 03:52 PM

Quote:

well i blew my 4.7 in my 03 and i found an engine from an 08 so , my question is what modifcations do i need to do to make this engine run proper??? please help!!! and does the tranny bolt up!! its an automatic
Pre 2008 and post 2008 4.7L engines are almost totally different. The pcm is different as well. You would need the whole engine along with intake and exhaust manifolds, throttle body(later models were electronic TB, not manual), the pcm, and the wiring harness(later models had 2 plugs per cylinder). It should physically bolt to your transmission assuming you have either a 45rfe or 545rfe. I would guess(but am not positive) that the pcm will be compatible with the trans. I am also unsure of how the later pcm would(if at all) communicate with your dash gauges, fuel pump and sending unit, etc...

02 Ram 06-15-2012 05:34 PM

i know, old thread but didnt want to start a thread on it since its been discussed. i was reading on this and some have done it. would like to do it on my 02 ram. all i would have to do is swap wiring and ECU right? TIA

snrusnak 06-15-2012 11:14 PM

Not sure that it would work out easily. It would physically mount fine, but I'm not sure about the harness and computer working easily.

HemiLonestar 06-16-2012 03:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by douce (Post 70372)
yo i got an '05 4.7L 4x4 with the 6spd manual quad cab. i'm lookin to do some work when i get back from my tour in iraq. I was told by local dodge dealer that the viper engine would mount right up to my 6spd manual. does anyone know if that is true? or does anyone know if the 6.1L hemi would mount up. lookin to do anything to get more from my truck, preciate it.

Putting in an SRT-10 engine in that truck would be a royal PITA, not impossible but would suck for a while to make it all work right, especially with a 4x4. The 6.1 will definitely bolt to your trans and into your truck. Your original 5.7 manifolds will not work well, the exhaust ports are different, either headers or possibly the SRT8 manifolds from a Grand Cherokee (these fit into 4th gens, don't think anyone has tried it with a 3rd gen). Cannot use the LX manifold. Also you will need to modify your front timing cover and accessory drive to fit the 6.1 intake manifold & TB, as they stick out the front. This also requires installation of an electric fan to get rid of the original clutch fan. Then you're on to custom tuning.


Quote:

Originally Posted by cdiddy602 (Post 693589)
well i blew my 4.7 in my 03 and i found an engine from an 08 so , my question is what modifcations do i need to do to make this engine run proper??? please help!!! and does the tranny bolt up!! its an automatic

The 03 has PCI bus computers and harness, 08 is CANbus; these are not compatible with each other. It will physically bolt in, however you will need to ensure that the tone wheel on the 08 crank is the same as your 03, most likely have to disable or plug the 2nd set of plugs unless you can find a way to adapt them into the harness, get a TB adapter to use your cable driven TB on the fly-by-wire 08 manifold. You will need to reuse your original engine's sensors and sending units. If the tone wheel is different, you have to pull the crank in order to change it. This may or may not be more trouble than it's worth for you.

4pnt7 06-16-2012 09:07 PM

03s came with the ngc computer which had the same tone rings as the 08. Im assuming he's talking about 4.7ls.

Although some 03s that were first made had the jtech computer.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger