DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Chassis - Drive Line - Suspension - Wheels and Tires - LOWERING or STANDARD (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Torque Thrust D wheels (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=41574)

RumbleBee08 09-09-2009 09:49 AM

Torque Thrust D wheels

Hey Gang,

Be gentle, I'm new to the truck world. I'm going to start outfitting my 08 Ram 1500 regular cab-short bed with some mods and one I'd like to do is ditch the factory 17" aluminum wheels it has for a set a wheels that looks like the Torque Thrust D wheels. 5 spokes, gray centers. Love the look of those wheels!!!:smiley_thumbs_up:

My question is in regards to the differences between truck wheels and car wheels. Are there any? Are they rated for higher loads, weight, stress or anything else? In other words, if I get the bolt pattern and back spacing correct, can I just get a set of TTDs and bolt them up? Or is there a structual issue going on here. I also plan a 2" shackle lowering kit in the back to level things out a bit and only occasionally haul stuff in the back.

Anyone have any pics of some Rams with that style wheel on them? My Ram is PB5 and I want those wheels! Thanks guys.

Cheers :beerchug:

chithead 09-09-2009 11:44 AM

I would contact American Racing and just make sure. Can't see where it would make a difference since Dodge uses aluminum wheels, but there is always that chance the truck will haul something a bit heavy. Never hurts to double check.

GregInAtl 09-09-2009 11:55 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Look at the Boss 338, I have seen them on many GM trucks, and full size cars. I personally have them on my Grand National. See pic below, I think they look as good or better than the AR wheel, and are cheaper. Look at jdwheels.com for more info.

chithead 09-09-2009 12:34 PM

Dude, those are SWEET!!!