DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Public Safety (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=91)
-   -   Secondary Education (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=43856)

Megacab07 11-14-2009 02:24 PM

Secondary Education

Was wondering with the number of public safety and hospital personnel here, has anyone attended or planning on attending a school for their profession? The goal of this is to offer suggestions and tips for choosing which schools to attend and which ones to stay away from ( not accredited, to expensive, not relevant). Let me know what you think. Also, fire and ems certifications do carry over to count as credit hours at some schools.

Just to start, I am a senior at American Public University majoring in Fire Science Management.

Quiet Lunatic 11-17-2009 07:49 AM

I am a Firefighter in the Air Force. We are required to have continuing Education. I am currently in the Fire Science getting ready to go on to the Fire Management. We are advised to stay away from the National Accredication schools and go with the Regionally Accredited.

CdnoilRAM 11-17-2009 04:21 PM

I'm an industrial rescuer and have had the opportunity of taking both the ROCO courses and the GRIP rescue courses. If you're a firefighter, I highly recommend the ROCO course, though the $5K price tag is a little steep, when they say 120 hours of corse, it's a week and a half of hard training in high angle/confined space/ and rope access rescue. Best I've taken. The Grip was great for industrial settings and doesn't focus so much on rescue in a firefighting scenario, not to mention only $2K.

By far the ROCO courses are the best, but having to travel to Baton Rouge and stay for a few weeks to get all your training is expensive; however I'm now a FULLY certified on-shore rescue attendant and it's worth every penny.

bones64 11-17-2009 05:48 PM