DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.7 HEMI V8 (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=83)
-   -   Exaust questions, ect.. (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=44759)

ape stit 12-07-2009 07:02 PM

Exaust questions, ect..

I have been reading different posts and havnt found what im looking for
I have a flowmaster on my 2004 hemi quad 4x4,
At highway speeds and low rpm cruise through town, its friggin loud in the interior, it sounds like there are sub-woofers constantly going off, (no thump, just constant) and I hate it. I bought it this way. is this what is to reffered to as drone. Also, will the Borla XR-1 get rid of this? if not what do you suggest.

Anybody know of a performance programmer that has a trans temp gauge on it that isnt a crappy programmer.

I really appreciate your help.

hemi05 12-08-2009 02:06 AM

I have a flowmaster super 44 on my hemi. same thing. I guess I've just gotten used to it. Don't know much about a Borla, but I can't see any kind of aftermarket exhaust being very quiet in the cab, just some quieter than others.

erm 12-08-2009 08:51 AM

Known problem with aftermarket exhausts on a HEMI with MDS. Seems to me Flowmaster is one of the worst as they start out loud. You'll get resonance (drone) with almost any aftermarket exhaust but most have resonators as part of their system.

You can eliminate the problem by adding a small resonator to the tailpipe (basically, a second small muffler) to reduce the drone.

I have not heard that Borla exhaust but if it has a resonator on it, it will be better than the Flowmaster.

As far as a programmer with a trans temp gauge, check out the Edge products. They have multi-screen displays and I believe that is one of the options. It will require some wiring and installation of a sensor to get the reading.