DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Ram Pictures - Photos (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=49)
-   -   6 hours in the sun (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=51198)

curt 04-13-2010 01:21 AM

6 hours in the sun
 
well story goes like this: exhaust leak caused by broken manifold bolts. The reason this is a 6 hour mess is, the bolts are inaccessable by drill.
so what do you do? pull the head! if only i knew what i was getting myself into before hand. well here are some shots you mechanics wont like one bit.
(i did an oil change afterwards hopefully that got rid of what antifreeze couldve seeped in there)
and i have driven 400 miles since and the truck still runs!

Intake mani off, valve cover off

http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/290/img00013sc.jpg

head off, antifreeze spillage (quickly sucked up with shop vac)

http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/2013/img00014c.jpg

98sst 04-13-2010 01:47 AM

You've got balls to do that yourself. I'm clueless when it comes to internals really Lol.

CajunDodge 04-13-2010 02:05 AM

Yep, definitely more work than I would have wanted to tackle, and I thought pulling the head on my Jeep was a pain.....

- Cajun

Toms Blue Ram 1500 04-13-2010 06:55 PM

Just for future reference . You could of taken the block plugs out and drained the entire block . That would of prevented making a big mess . They are down on the sides of the engine block by the oil pan rail . I would of still changed the oil anyway . So how did the job come out ? Exhaust leak fixed now ?

CdnoilRAM 04-13-2010 08:45 PM

hopefully you got everything sorted out, and cudos for doing it yourself.

curt 04-13-2010 09:03 PM

ahhh that wouldve been nice haha! yes the exhaust leak is now fixed, and she purrs like a kitten. only.. in the process of reassembling it i managed to break 2 more bolts, thankfully these are easier to get at and will be a quick fix.

curt 04-13-2010 09:07 PM

also can anyone tell me the torque specs on the head bolts? i did some internet research and came up with 105lb-ft which seems to be working fine.

ScatPak07 04-13-2010 09:18 PM

He man thats great that you got it done! Congrats on fixing the problem!!!

oh4ohyeah 04-13-2010 09:52 PM

:Wow1:

Yeeehaw!

Toms Blue Ram 1500 04-13-2010 10:14 PM

Cylinder head torque specs are two step :

first step 50 ft. lbs.
second step 105 ft. lbs .


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger