DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   WHO HAS...installed a double din (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=52335)

HemiDoug 04-27-2010 07:24 PM

WHO HAS...installed a double din
 
Just purchased a double din Pioneer AVIC-X910BT Nav/Stereo and I am wondering how to mount & secure the stereo in my 1-1/2 din dash-someone has had to overcome this same issue (I don't want to secure the stereo to the dash cover, I can't imagine there would be enough support) any ideas or pics (especially completed installs) would be cool.

olsarge 04-29-2010 01:15 AM

well first off you'll have to cut the bezel out some quit a bit actually and then you can actually fill in the hole with fiberglass and bondo or somehow to make it square or you can do what I did and make the hole contour to the factory curves and just make a trim ring to go around your radio they also sell these trim rings in different sizes i just made mine out of 1/4 mdf and covered it in suede ill post some pic tomorrow.

also on securing you can either bend some mild sheet metal in to an l bracket looking thing or use some mounting strap that can be purchased at walmart for 1.50 I used mounting strap as I had it lying round

HemiDoug 04-29-2010 10:46 AM

Cut, filed & filling gaps in the dash as we speak, slow going trying to get it right the first time so I don't create more work for myself. Post your pics, I haven't seen many still trying to figure out how I'm gonna cover my fabrication up. I'm taking pics as I progress to post so others can see a step by step from fabrication to install. Should be finished in a week.

srtsir 04-30-2010 01:50 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I have single din with double din screen check it out easy to install....

HemiDoug 05-01-2010 02:22 PM

That's sweet! What is filling your dash gaps?

JBSPartans05 05-01-2010 02:25 PM

I installed one but i used a double Din Bezel that I had to buy

mrmilomd 05-10-2010 12:28 AM

hey SRTSIR what kind of radio is that? does it have an extra output/input for video in the back?

fixmedaily 05-21-2010 08:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by srtsir (Post 206496)
I have single din with double din screen check it out easy to install....

What model is that?

Quiet Lunatic 01-29-2011 06:11 PM

im thinking about doing the double din mod. can anyone post pics?

TALLA 01-29-2011 08:39 PM

just buy the bezel for it only 100$ and what radio you have and how many speaker you have

all that depends on what you need and on how much you have to spend


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger