DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Electrical (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=199)
-   -   uconnect / iphone question (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=52949)

reppright 05-06-2010 11:32 PM

uconnect / iphone question
 
I have a new 2010 Ram with uconnect and the short little cable in the upper glove box to connect to an ipod or iphone. I am surprised they put it there. if i want to listen to the music on it i have to plug in my iphone where i can't reach it easily every time i get in my truck.

Does anyone know of a bluetooth device i could just plug in to the cable that talks to my iphone that i could just leave there and not have to plug it in each time?

Alternatively does anyone know of a cable extension i could just route down throught the dash and in to the console so i could just easily plug it in each time? If so, how hard is it to remove the parts to do the routing? I would want to put it in the little cubbie in front of the floor shifter.

It would have been real nice if they would have just made a little docking station on the console. I love the Dodge but i just found out Ford has bluetooth that will run the music on the iphone.

CustomShirts 05-12-2010 03:05 AM

First of all... Welcome to the forumz. I don't have an answer for you.. but hang tight... someone may be able to answer you.

Tim

Netman66 05-13-2010 02:34 PM

If you have the RER radio, then the factory setup can be removed and replaced with this kit: 82211853. The cable is about 3 feet long and simply installs between the harness and the radio. It will NOT charge the 3GS or 4th gen iPods though.

Scoche makes something called a Passport that goes between the newer iPhone/iPods and the cable to rectify this.

I'm putting the factory setup in mine so when I get the pieces my 82211853 will be available if my buddy doesn't want it.

silvermist 05-14-2010 09:26 PM

i was under the impression that the deck ran the ipod/iphone on the screen

Netman66 05-15-2010 06:59 PM

It does, but you need the cabling to connect it to the radio.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger