DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Head Unit Swap Question? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=55630)

simply2cool 06-19-2010 02:27 AM

Head Unit Swap Question?
 
I have the REF Single cd with sirrius radio installed in my 07 Ram 1500. If I were to do a head unit swap with another OEM Head Unit. Is it a simple plug and play swap? Would I still have the same satellite esn or would it be different?

05atlanticblue 06-19-2010 12:28 PM

the sirius units are spearate from the decks. mine was plug and play

erm 06-19-2010 12:47 PM

You just need a sat radio plug in at the back but if you go stock for stock MOPAR, most units have this. You would use the same sat receiver that's already in your truck.

If you go with a larger DIN head unit, such as I did, you just need a new center bezel.

simply2cool 06-19-2010 11:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 05atlanticblue (Post 241540)
the sirius units are spearate from the decks. mine was plug and play

Thanks for the information. I thought they were separate units, but wasn't sure.

simply2cool 06-20-2010 12:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MADDOG (Post 241547)
You just need a sat radio plug in at the back but if you go stock for stock MOPAR, most units have this. You would use the same sat receiver that's already in your truck.

If you go with a larger DIN head unit, such as I did, you just need a new center bezel.

I would like to do the same setup. Do you have any pics of yours. I would love to go to a mygig head unit.

ScatPak07 06-20-2010 12:25 AM

Yea if you are going with a diff headunit just make sure it has the Sirius plug in

simply2cool 06-20-2010 01:43 AM

Does anyone know if the REN units with sirrius(08-10) will work with my 2007?

erm 06-20-2010 11:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by simply2cool (Post 241898)
I would like to do the same setup. Do you have any pics of yours. I would love to go to a mygig head unit.

I went with the REC/NAV head unit when I did my swap. With the exception of the button orientation when compared to the MyGig, it would look similar to this:

Before:

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...Tint/Tint4.jpg

1.5 DIN / DD size comparison:

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...io/Audio34.jpg

1.5 DIN head unit and small cubby exposed:

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...io/Audio31.jpg

Stock opening, ready for new head unit. Notice the number of mounting holes you have to play with:

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...io/Audio32.jpg

After:

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...io/Audio42.jpg

simply2cool 06-20-2010 10:11 PM

Thanks for the pics. It looks great.

erm 06-20-2010 10:31 PM

I get to swap this one out again...I ended up with a bum unit. Damned eBay!!! ;)

I have another REC/NAV in my 300SRT8 which, when I pick the new audio gear for that vehicle, I'll put in the truck.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger