DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 4.7 Liter V8 (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   tuner question (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=55814)

05atlanticblue 06-22-2010 02:22 AM

tuner question
 
my dad and i have the same trucks - i've been told, with no concrete yes or no, that a superchips tuner can have the second vehicle added to the tuner as an online update option for a fee. is this definitely the case?

otherwise are there any other tuners that allow that capability?

thanks

Blaze 4X4 Ever 06-22-2010 10:08 PM

Man, I don't know. Call the mnufactorer and ask them.

ScatPak07 06-22-2010 10:22 PM

I doubt that you can use it on 2 different vehicles.

You can erase everything on the tuner that was on the first truck but then you cannot go back to the stock tune. You will really mess with the tuner which will screw you over in the end.

This is my understanding. The tuner usually recognizes one vehicle and should only be used with it.

You can reset the tuner but then it will not recognize your truck anymore. Like the Predator writes the stock tune in and remembers the VIN# of the truck. I can always go back and put the stock tune in and do whatever else I want.

I thik you might not be able to retune the truck if you keep erasing it.

erm 06-22-2010 10:28 PM

I believe they are VIN specific so that means one vehicle at a time.

I know you can update quite a few tuners online but not to make them a multi-vehicle tool.

05atlanticblue 06-23-2010 05:09 AM

one truck - any other brand and it would be possible. supposedly the data file is too large for a mopar to support two vehicles.

TheSatinPumpkin 06-23-2010 02:05 PM

like the post(s) above. You can load your tune and then give it to your Dad to call Superchips and have the SC unlocked and then he can load it. However you will be stuck with the SC tune on your truck since the VIN will no longer match.

Since my SC is stacked the SCT now considers the SC tune as the stock file but i could still sell my tuner cheap and then the new owner could call SC to have it unlocked for $100 and then they can use it on thier truck.
The only way i can actually go back to stock would be unloading my SCT tune then get my PCM reflashed.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger