DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.2 Liter V8 (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=86)
-   -   318 LA into a 96 Ram that used to have a 318 magnum? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=57781)

Johnnyshave73 07-22-2010 08:45 PM

318 LA into a 96 Ram that used to have a 318 magnum?
 
I currently purchased a 96 ram 1500 sport with the 318 magnum, because the price was right and i couldnt pass it up. Included in the price was the blown motor. I decided to go out and purchase a 95 dakota with a 318 ( not a magnum) i also couldnt pass this up. Will this work? Will i be able to swap the reg. 318 into a truck that used to have a magnum? mechanics in my area are telling me it cannot be done, but when i called up the dodge restoration hotline they said yes it can be done because it is the same exact block. Could anyone tell me if yes this can be done and if it will be easy or hard?

Toms Blue Ram 1500 07-22-2010 08:54 PM

The LA engine (I believe) does not have the window in the block for the crank sensor . I do believe you can make it work if you do a Mopar Electronic ignition conversion and carburetor it .

Johnnyshave73 07-22-2010 08:58 PM

really? when i called the restoration hotline thing it said all i had to do was transfer all the sensors and what not.and that everything would go smoothyl

Toms Blue Ram 1500 07-22-2010 09:12 PM

Theres no where for the crank sensor to go or even bolt up . Hopefully Randy (Remerson228) who is a factory Dodge technician will see this thread and confirm what I have said .

Johnnyshave73 07-22-2010 10:42 PM

but will the wiring harnesses and everything work?

Toms Blue Ram 1500 07-22-2010 10:45 PM

I think it will as long as you transfer all your sensors or switches over .

Johnnyshave73 07-22-2010 10:51 PM

alright im just very concerned about all of this because i dont know what would be better (more reliable) rebuilding head gaskets on a motor with 125k or putting in a motor with 78 k

Dennyboy 07-22-2010 11:52 PM

having done both. the easiest for me would be changing gaskets cuz the engine can stay in the truck.

Johnnyshave73 07-23-2010 12:04 AM

the major problem that i have with that is that once you replace a head gasket theres no guarantee to it. it could last 1 mile or last 100k

Dennyboy 07-23-2010 12:39 AM

well do it right then and you should have no problem. my first time i did my straight six cherokee by myself and it ran for 50,000 more miles stronger than before. that jeep was murdered by an inatentive driver. funny thing was the motor still turned over just tranny wasnt hooked up anymore.

there are tons of people on here that would help if you needed any advice. but it is really up to your confidence level.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger