DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   5.2L V8 Specific Topics (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=172)
-   -   Throttle Cable Modification EXTRA POWER! (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=63947)

sly96ram 10-18-2010 01:03 PM

Throttle Cable Modification EXTRA POWER!
 
Well I not for sure if there is a right up about this with the 2nd gen rams 5.2 and 5.9 so I figured i would start one. I decide to buy a CAI the other day and wile installing it i notice something up at the throttle cable I had tons of slack. So i decided to test a theory. I put a rock the gas petal till it was smashed to the floor and notice the thottle body was only opening halfway.
So if you look at were the cable attached to the pedal you will notice you can pull all the slack through. I used a small cable clamp i got for 65 cents to take up the slack and hold it in place on the pedal. Now the throttle response is great and It actually gots a lot more power instead of only half. I also noticed it now down shifts when it needs to.

RamTech 10-18-2010 01:36 PM

This is more of a repair than a mod since it's now working as it was originally intended.

GeauxHunting 10-18-2010 01:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RamTech (Post 337336)
This is more of a repair than a mod since it's now working as it was originally intended.

RamTech has a point :D

sly96ram 10-18-2010 01:50 PM

Ya and its a modification to the cable instead of replacing the cable.

hauser775 10-18-2010 01:51 PM

Did this on my old 94' Ranger. Works quite well. I used a zip-tie rather than a clamp.

Toms Blue Ram 1500 10-18-2010 07:53 PM

I will have to check out mine . Thanks .

97ram1500 10-22-2010 01:00 AM

isn't there an adjuster nut that can adjust the tension on the cable?

Paul89 10-22-2010 09:54 PM

You would think there be an adjuster nut on the cable. Be checking mine in the morning.

Joe Daddy 10-27-2010 05:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul89 (Post 340915)
You would think there be an adjuster nut on the cable. Be checking mine in the morning.

I couldn't find 1 but a 2lb hammer will adjust the bracket nicely, also helps with down shifts!

zmer550 11-17-2010 11:05 PM

did it to mine this morning, it works!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger