DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   MDS (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=147)
-   -   Disabling MDS Per Ram Engineers (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=68179)

RootBeer 12-08-2010 07:05 PM

Disabling MDS Per Ram Engineers
 
This is direct from the chat with the Ram Hemi Engineers.

To disable the MDS, put your shifter from D to 5 (as displayed on the EVIC or cluster). With the console shifter, this is just one hit to the left. With the column shifter you need to push the +- button - one time.

Your trans will still shift up and down automatically through all the gears.

Tow/haul button is not the correct method.

GTyankee 12-08-2010 07:06 PM

good to know, Thanks

RansRAM 12-08-2010 07:09 PM

Good info RB, thanks for posting. Just to clarify, I thought that when you did this it would down shift automatically however you had to manually upshift.

RootBeer 12-08-2010 07:38 PM

It will automatically downshift and upshift to the highest gear you have selected.

RansRAM 12-08-2010 08:03 PM

Okay, now that is cool. So all these guys on here complaining about the MDS don't have to worry anymore. They just have to get into the habit of doing this everytime they startup if they really don't want the MDS kicking in.

ricktech 12-29-2010 08:13 AM

That is really cool. Thank you. The MDS drives me nuts. All those ponies held back by a computer.

polarihog 01-10-2011 06:15 PM

ok... this is good if you own an 09 or later but what about us folks that have 08's and MDS....How can we disconnect...???

Burkdadhemi 01-10-2011 06:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by polarihog (Post 407404)
ok... this is good if you own an 09 or later but what about us folks that have 08's and MDS....How can we disconnect...???

If you have an 08 then use the tow mode and there is no MDS.

Speed 1B 01-11-2011 12:59 AM

So by doing this you still are using all of the gears just like normal...only difference is it wont go into MDS mode?

RootBeer 01-11-2011 01:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Speed 1B (Post 407983)
So by doing this you still are using all of the gears just like normal...only difference is it wont go into MDS mode?

Yes. Just set the shifter so the 5 is showing and leave it there. The trans will downshift and upshift all by itself. If it set at a lower number, say 3 for instance that is the highest gear you will be able to attain without manually moving it up.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger