DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   horn separate switch dead short..help! (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=69898)

String13 12-30-2010 11:26 PM

horn separate switch dead short..help!
 
So, purchased an air horn that requires the compressor, yada yada; irrelevant. The switch were using is http://www.dormanproducts.com/p-8696-85962.aspx it lights up when "on" and has three terminals (Ground on the far right, A/C On in the middle, and Supply Volt on the far left.
Well, I wanted to run that horn and the factory horn to the switch so I could use both. We have terminal 86 wired to the hot wire from the steering wheel button, terminal 87 is wired to the factory horn. The 85 terminal is grounded, terminal 30 is wired with a fusable link to the battery to get 12v power. What the idea was? Wire both the compressor and the factory horn to terminal 87 and have the switch be spliced into the wire between the compressor and terminal 87 (so with the switch on, both horns will sound, with the switch off, the power to the air horn will be cut so only the factory will sound.) What we did was everything above, like connected the terminals and what not, but we didn't connect the compressor (we just wanted to see if the switch was in the on or off position, and see if it had any effect on the factory horn.) The switch lights up blue when "on", and when I first hit the horn, it lit up and the factory horn sounded. I switched it to off, hit the horn, ..dead short. Does anyone know why this might've happened? Did we forget to ground something, put wires into the wrong terminals, not use a strong enough fuse? (30 amp) We're mind boggled.

RamTech 12-31-2010 10:20 AM

You have power at the horn switch? The horn relay is ground controlled. Anyway, my suggestion is to splice into the existing wire going to the horn and run a wire to one side of the switch. From there connect a wire to terminal 85 of the relay to the compressor. Ground terminal 86. Connect 30 to your compressor power supply and 87 to the compressor itself.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger