DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   NAV-TV - MyGIG Integration - Dodge Ram Accessories (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Factory backup camera won't work (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=71861)

2011Ram 01-19-2011 08:56 AM

Factory backup camera won't work
 
On my 2011 the factory backup camera does not work with the allgig when in forward motion. The camera might be powered by the backup lights and I need to find an accessory power source for it to work. Any ideas?

RamTech 01-19-2011 09:20 AM

You're wanting to use the rear view camera when in a forward gear, correct?

NAV-TV 01-19-2011 10:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2011Ram (Post 417172)
On my 2011 the factory backup camera does not work with the allgig when in forward motion. The camera might be powered by the backup lights and I need to find an accessory power source for it to work. Any ideas?

In order to use the factory camera in forced mode you need to rewire the factory camera. Give me a minute and I will post up how to do it.

NAV-TV 01-19-2011 10:41 AM

1) Access the connector at the camera.
2) Use a voltmeter to find the wire that is +12v when the vehicle is in Reverse.
3) Cut this wire and run the wire from the Accessory output of the AllGIG to the camera.
4) Enjoy forced camera.

2011Ram 01-19-2011 10:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SUSANNE (Post 417253)
1) Access the connector at the camera.
2) Use a voltmeter to find the wire that is +12v when the vehicle is in Reverse.
3) Cut this wire and run the wire from the Accessory output of the AllGIG to the camera.
4) Enjoy forced camera.

So back to running a wire all the way back to the camera. That sucks. Had a dealer install the allgig. They showed me the wire to use coming off the allgig.

budmancan 01-19-2011 11:27 AM

So if I understand this correctly the camera will get its power from the all gig even when the truck is in park? Or do you still leave the acc wire connected to the camera and Y in the all gig wire?

2011Ram 01-19-2011 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by budmancan (Post 417300)
So if I understand this correctly the camera will get its power from the all gig even when the truck is in park? Or do you still leave the acc wire connected to the camera and Y in the all gig wire?

Dealer just said I have to run a wire back and splice it in. Everything works normal right now, of course have dvd and nav in motion working.

Maybe Susanne can confirm this.

NAV-TV 01-19-2011 12:19 PM

Guys,

I wrote an email to my tech and this was his reply.

OK, depending on the vehicle, this wire may be accessed in the front, but it is frequently interrupted mid-vehicle, and the most reliable location is directly at the camera. If the customer can locate the wire closer to the radio, then that's fine, but he must verify that he is tapping into the correct wire. Also, some vehicles do not need to have the camera rewired.

2011Ram 01-26-2011 12:09 PM

Camera does work after all see this link...

http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread....547#post424547

NAV-TV 01-28-2011 10:28 AM

And since this thread is similar and the problem has been resolved by my tech department I am also closing this thread. But I will leave it so everyone can read and see the issues were taken care of.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger