DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Ram Wheels And Tires (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=129)
-   -   TPMS Question - Ramtech? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=71888)

RootBeer 01-19-2011 02:34 PM

TPMS Question - Ramtech?
 
Was talking with the Tire and Wheel folks at a local dealer about cost to swap out TPMS and wheels if I decide to get new wheels but keep stock tires.

They raised an interesting issue I had not heard of and could use some verification/clarification.

They said if I were to put new tires on and the load range was different from stock or the max psi was different then the sensors would trigger a warning light/code.

They also said there are no optional sensors with different settings and the computer setting cannot be changed.

Does this make sense?

RamTech 01-19-2011 02:53 PM

These tire and wheel people seem to just enough to cause confusion. Keeping in mind that tires are inflated to what's on the placard on the drivers door and not to the max pressure on the tires sidewall, going up a load range doesn't matter because you'll still run the same pressure in the tires.

RootBeer 01-19-2011 02:56 PM

So load range does matter though? I thought the TPMS just read tire pressure and that's all that mattered.

I use a hand-held gauge for accuracy anyway.

RamTech 01-19-2011 03:24 PM

No, load range doesn't matter to the TPMS but it does matter if you were to try to go to a lower load range than what your truck calls for. It could overload the tires and cause a blowout.

RootBeer 01-19-2011 03:29 PM

Thanks Randy.

GTyankee 01-19-2011 04:41 PM

TPMS information
I have read people wondering about TPMS in here & other forums, i know less than most it would seem. I read over & over again how some people swear by ORANGE TPMS, so i googled it & now i still don't know much, but, i am more edjumicated
http://www.orangetpmsusa.com/

I didn't see our RAMs in the application lists, but, possibly we fall under the JEEP section?

http://www.chryslertpms.com/?gclid=C...FQRvbAodfC4sIw

TODAY is NATIONAL POPCORN DAY !!!!

foxcrazy90 01-21-2011 11:13 PM

i went from 20's to 17's
from 33's to 34's
from 35 psi to 50 psi using the factory sensors and have not had the first issue.
i dont think it matters going up in psi only dropping psi!! could be wrong but that is what i was told!!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger