DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   speker question and thanks for the HELP! (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=72180)

kingator 01-22-2011 08:59 PM

speker question and thanks for the HELP!
 
I want to put in 3.5" dash speakers in my '05 ram 1500 quad cab. Can anyone tell me, if there was no speaker there ever would it be wired steel?
the speakers im talking about is the roughly 6" wide piece that runs along the windshield.

And could i just use tho's wirers or would i have to run new?
has anyone done this?
and well any 3.5 fit in there?

thanks guys!!!

Jersey Devil 01-23-2011 09:33 AM

Hello, that year had a 7 speaker and 4 speaker set up from the factory. From what your asking I'm going to assume you have the 4 speaker truck. You will need to run speaker wires for the new speakers your going to install. You are correct the 3.5" speakers are the size required for that truck. Good luck with your install.
Just a little FYI, to remove those covers on the dash just remove the pillar cover and it will lift out of the way, very easy to access.
When running the new speaker wires be careful not to force anything you don't want to knock anything out of place under the dash. Its easy to run the wires just take your time.

kingator 01-23-2011 03:24 PM

so theres three speakers up there? are they all 3.5"?

kingator 01-23-2011 03:25 PM

and ya i do have the lower mod with only 4

blownengine 01-24-2011 04:46 PM

Do you have an amp to power those 3.5's?

kingator 01-24-2011 06:10 PM

no i dont

kingator 01-24-2011 06:10 PM

and yep theres room for 3 im thinking ill just put two in tho the two sides

erm 01-24-2011 06:12 PM

Forget doing the center channel speaker. 3.5's will fit up there. You may even have the mounting tabs. The only way to see if you have the wiring there is to pop off that defroster vent panel and see.

kingator 01-24-2011 06:21 PM

ya i do have the mounting tabs so im just going to go with the two i bought and then ill work my way to the back for the subs :)

kingator 01-24-2011 06:26 PM

and so far that i can fill is theres no wire there for me but ill find out once i get them and start at it and take a closer look


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger