DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Body & Interior (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=189)
-   -   Moment of stupidity= Destroyed mirror (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=72335)

socket462 01-24-2011 07:52 AM

Moment of stupidity= Destroyed mirror

I was driving last night on a street that was a bit narrower due to snow- when due to my inattention to the right side from a vehicle coming the other direction, I clipped a mirror of an older van with my passenger side mirror. The van's mirror was only slightly damaged (I think it was solid steel!) while my mirror was destroyed-- with pieces all over the street! I have never done this before in my 25 years of driving, so I feel pretty stupid to say the least!

My question is-- do the aftermarket mirrors have the fit and finish of the factory units? I have the fold away- non trailer tow power w/ defrost (GTS) mirrors. They are sustantially less expensive - and Ebay has some even cheaper (which makes me wonder even more!).

Thanks!
Dave

2007 1500 QCSB

916Timmy 01-24-2011 09:27 AM

They should be good to go, seen plenty of street scene mirrors, they are good!

erm 01-24-2011 02:51 PM

I'd just get a MOPAR replacement myself and not worry about the quality of the aftermarket stuff.

sk8noregon 02-01-2011 06:12 PM

^^^Yep yep^^^OEM gets rid of the worry !

platinuminjected 02-01-2011 06:32 PM

oooh that suxs dude and i would have to agree wit maddog on this one

socket462 02-05-2011 11:07 AM

Well.. I got a Kool-Vue from Ebay for $38 shipped-- and its a perfect fit! I tested the motor before mounting just to be sure-- but it is identical to OEM.. and less than half the price. (I just may have to buy a spare mirror to have on hand! lol..).

Dalton 02-05-2011 12:17 PM

was that heated and powered for $38?

Valve 02-05-2011 01:32 PM