DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   2011 Dodge Ram Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=117)
-   -   Homelink hates my garage door opener! (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=81101)

Stump3r 04-25-2011 11:36 PM

Homelink hates my garage door opener!
 
It's either a Canadian thing or homelink just doesn't like an old Sears Craftsman door opener! For the life of me I've tried everything to get this damn thing to work and no way! I have a newer push button wireless keypad and your conventional openers. I had everything working until I tried to program the homelink in the truck. Now all I can get to work is my wireless keypad. My two old transmitters will not work now either. Anyone run into this before?

bigralphy 04-25-2011 11:48 PM

Have you followed the programming instructions in the manual? I have a Craftsman as well and I thought it was a rolling code opener. Turns out I need to use the original remote to program the homelink.

erm 04-25-2011 11:50 PM

Is your Sears opener a rolling code type? If so, I had the same problem. I just converted it to a straight code based on the dip switches in the remote and then it all worked fine.

brad12kx 04-26-2011 12:01 AM

From the 2011 manual -

Quote:

Programming A Rolling Code System
• At the garage door opener motor (in the garage), locate the “learn” or
“programming” button. This can usually be found where the hanging antenna
wire is attached to the garage door opener motor (it is NOT the button
normally used to open and close the door).
• Firmly press and release the “learn” or “programming” button. The name and
color of the button may vary by manufacturer. Within 30 seconds, return to the
vehicle and press the programmed HomeLink® button twice (holding the
button for two seconds each time). If the device is plugged in and activates,
programming is complete.
• If the device does not activate, press the button a third time (for two seconds)
to complete the programming.

bigralphy 04-26-2011 12:20 AM

This method did not work for me. I had to use the opener remote instead of the learn button even though it says not to. It was the only way mine programmed.

brad12kx 04-26-2011 12:31 AM

Here is another tid-bit that affects some (mainly Canadian) garage door systems -

Quote:

Gate Operator/Canadian Programming
Canadian radio-frequency laws require transmitter signals
to “time-out” (or quit) after several seconds of
transmission – which may not be long enough for
HomeLink to pick up the signal during programming.
Similar to this Canadian law, some U.S. gate operators are
designed to “time-out” in the same manner.
It may be helpful to unplug the device during the cycling
process to prevent possible overheating of the garage
door or gate motor.
If you are having difficulties programming a garage door
opener or a gate operator, replace “Programming
HomeLink” Step 3 with the following:
3. Continue to press and hold the HomeLink button,
while you press and release (“cycle”), your handheld
transmitter every two seconds until HomeLink has
successfully accepted the frequency signal. The EVIC
display will change from “CHANNEL # TRAINING” to
“CHANNEL # TRAINED.”
Quote:

1) Turn the ignition switch to the ON/RUN position.
2) Place the handheld transmitter 1 to 3 in (3 to 8 cm)
from the HomeLink buttons while keeping the EVIC
display in view.
For optimal training, point the battery end of the
handheld transmitter away from the HomeLink
3) Simultaneously press and hold both the chosen
HomeLink button and the handheld transmitter button
until the EVIC display changes from “CHANNEL
# TRAINING” to “CHANNEL # TRAINED”.
Then release both the HomeLink and handheld transmitter
buttons.
If the EVIC display states “DID NOT TRAIN” repeat
Step 3. If the signal is too weak, replace the battery in the
handheld transmitter.
It may take up to 30 seconds or longer in rare cases. The
garage door may open and close while you train.

Stump3r 04-26-2011 12:38 AM

I've tried everything, followed the destructions to the letter, tried for rolling codes etc. Even been on the homelink site to ensure my owners manual instructions match what homelink says.
Since first posting I can now get my old transmitters working or my wireless keypad but not both and I cannot get homelink to bite at all.
I like Maddog's idea, that will be next.
Not a huge deal if I don't get it working but I just want to tell everyone I have a $40,000.00 garage door opener :P

Thanks Brad for posting the instructions, appreciate the effort.

brad12kx 04-26-2011 01:03 AM

Sometimes technology is great. This appears to be NOT one of those times. :(

GTyankee 04-26-2011 03:09 AM

I bet if you use 2 ppl & follow directions perfectly, it will work

with mine on the 3rd try with 2 people, it worked
a bit later it stopped working
the guy that lives upstairs bought a new TV & desktop computer, when he leaves it on, my door doesn't open, but, it always closes
i have to grab one of the Sears remotes to open it & it takes a couple pushes sometimes
irritates me that the Homelink doesn't always work

northernblue 04-26-2011 10:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stump3r (Post 510833)
I've tried everything, followed the destructions to the letter, tried for rolling codes etc. Even been on the homelink site to ensure my owners manual instructions match what homelink says.
Since first posting I can now get my old transmitters working or my wireless keypad but not both and I cannot get homelink to bite at all.
I like Maddog's idea, that will be next.
Not a huge deal if I don't get it working but I just want to tell everyone I have a $40,000.00 garage door opener :P

Thanks Brad for posting the instructions, appreciate the effort.

I had similar problems with rolling codes. I gave them a call at homelink, number in your manual, and the girl there walked me through the steps. No problem. I have an Overhead Door opener, and there were specific instructions for mine. Some of them need specifics I guess. Give them a call, very helpful.
:smileup:


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger