DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Electrical (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=188)
-   -   just gauge lights and dome lights (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=81739)

ohmega07 05-03-2011 09:55 AM

just gauge lights and dome lights
 
i am not sure why, but my gauge illumination lights and dome lights arent working, but the rest of my lights are fine, gear shift lights work, seatbelt light ect. rear dvd works ect.

any ideas on why just those 2 specifics would go out?

brad12kx 05-03-2011 10:42 PM

Any chance you have the dash dimmer knob turned all the way down....to the click? :4-dontknow:

ohmega07 05-04-2011 11:21 AM

no, i use the dash dimmer sometimes, but i have checked that and its definately out, even when its dimmed to its lowest, it still illuminates the dials a fraction of a bit, but they are completely out.

brad12kx 05-05-2011 12:05 AM

This is really pointing in the direction of a bad instrument cluster. It's actually a complete computer that operates a number of things, and has the drivers for both the dome lights and dash lights. It also has the drivers for a number of other things (like almost every interior light). I am not 100% sure, but I believe the dealer can hook into the system and run diagnostics on the cluster to determine whether or not it's failing.

BUT - before you spend a bunch of cash on diagnostics, try doing a full reset. Disconnect your battery cable for 30 minutes (over night is even better). When you re-connect it, all the computers in the truck will reset. Like your home computer, sometimes issue can be resolved by rebooting. :)

Bad part of a reset.....the clock will be wrong, and your radio presets will be gone....along with your memory seat positions, etc. Truck might run a little weird for 5-10 minutes while the engine computer learns the sensor input. If you do this, a short highway run (10miles) is a good thing. :smileup:

ohmega07 05-05-2011 11:45 AM

thanks, ended up switching a couple fuses even though they looked fine first time i checked em and then i did a reset and one or both worked and fixed the problem,

thanks guys


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger