DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.7 HEMI V8 (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=83)
-   -   Nervous about making the muffler switch (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=85794)

Red05Ram 06-26-2011 04:51 PM

Nervous about making the muffler switch

I have a Flowmaster 40 Series and love the sound, but from what i understand if i switch to MagnaFlow ill see a difference in power. What kind of difference should i expect? I hear about cherry bomb extreme, hows the flow compared to magnaflow? And hows WOT? Is MagnaFlow about the best for our trucks?

916Timmy 06-27-2011 05:11 PM

Not sure about the cherry bomb extreme, but I can see right through my Magnaflow..."flowmaster" not so much! And my full stainless steel mag will last as long as my truck does!

Here are the Cherry Bomb cutaway pics
http://www.google.com/search?rlz=1T4...w=1600&bih=744

GTyankee 06-27-2011 05:20 PM

I really don't believe you will notice a horse power or torque difference be those 2 mufflers, unless you are running at the drag strip with timing lights
just a sound difference, if you like loud exhaust get a shorter muffler, like a 14" Magnaflow

RansRAM 06-27-2011 05:50 PM

Well I have the flowmaster 40 and although the power feels about the same as stock (can't really tell the difference with my dyno butt :LOL:), I did notice a definite increase in MPG after having it installed. Increased MPG usually means better performance. Also the sound is amazing and that's not just me saying it as I get alot of compliments. Had it on for almost two months now and very happy with it. :smileup:

sporty11 06-28-2011 09:36 AM

just installed a 14" magnaflow on my '11 hemi, and when the shop pulled off the stocker they compared them on a bench test for the flow rate..