DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   5.9L V8 Specific Topics (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=173)
-   -   Cylinder 5 misfire for 98 ram (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=85826)

MonsterRamAlaska 06-26-2011 11:37 PM

Cylinder 5 misfire for 98 ram
 
Hey, so here is where I am at.. My truck has had the check engine light on since I bought her. I checked the code with a computer and it said cylinder 5 was misfiring. So I got new distributer cap and new plugs and wires, also my compresion test was fine. I cleared the code and kept driving it. I checked it a while later and it said the same thing.. My friend suggested it might be the fuel injector is bad for 5, but I dont have fuel injectors if im correct, isnt there only one that distributes the fuel to all pistons? So Im not sure what it is

cherry98 06-27-2011 02:57 AM

not sure about whats wrong with your truck but there is one injector for every cylinder i hope this helps a little

MonsterRamAlaska 06-27-2011 10:09 PM

I was reading around this forum and came across other people having the same problem. Some people were saying it was induction or something from the wires from the distibuter to the spark plugs crossing and stuff. could that simply be enough to make cylinder 5 misfire?

shak01 07-01-2011 08:00 AM

TSB:18-48-98
Symptoms: various single cylinder misfire (1, 3, 7,) ad especially 5 and/or 8
NOTE: This rerouting procedure should be performed before any other misfire, surge, or spark knock repairs are attempted.
http://dodgeram.info/tsb/1998/18-48-98/18-48-98-v8.htm

dafichter 07-03-2011 07:20 PM

I have a 99 that is doing the same thing, ran 3 different types of injector clearner threw it and has not helped. Thought about new plugs and wires.

dafichter 07-03-2011 07:26 PM

Looked at the rerouting, could I just put sheilded plug wires in and would that fix the problem, I am not even sure that they make sheilded wires

MonsterRamAlaska 07-05-2011 02:36 AM

I did a little rerouting on my wires, but I didn't see any significant changes. If there were shielding covers for the wires, that would be a lot easier than rerouting the rest of the wires..


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger