DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   2011 Dodge Ram Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=117)
-   -   Anyone Install a Remote Start? (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=93390)

Flat Spot 10-03-2011 01:47 PM

Anyone Install a Remote Start?
 
Now that the weather is starting to get cold, I want to install the remote starter on my truck. I'm told and have read that the dealer has to do scan in order for the remote start to work; however, if you install the device at home in your garage, will any of the keys work and start the truck by putting it in the ignition and turning it?

I don't want to install it at home only to find out that it won't start.

11HEM1 10-03-2011 02:35 PM

The dealer told me that it had to be done there because you get new key fobs they will keep old keys

tonyhawk196 10-03-2011 04:12 PM

From what I understand, All they need to do is program the new key fobs and you should be able to install the new hood latch, module and in some cases the wiring harness yourself. If you look on Mopars website, you can get the kit number and the a pdf of the instructions to install.

The wiring harness looks to be the most difficult piece to install but I believe in most cases you do not even need it because the truck is pre-wired. The instructions explain how to tell if your truck is pre-wired already or not.

But I guess the best bet would to talk to a tech and ask he or she if the hardware install can be preformed by you.

stangd1909 10-03-2011 05:20 PM

I'm going to do the same thing. Here is a really nice kit, and for cheap.



http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...id=26150143877

Flat Spot 10-05-2011 11:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 11HEM1 (Post 627443)
The dealer told me that it had to be done there because you get new key fobs they will keep old keys

That's just wrong. You're buying a new module with new keys, so they should program the old keys (which you own) with the new module and give you back the old module. They shouldn't be keeping anything.

kewlguy53403 10-05-2011 11:32 PM

There is a module out there that plugs in under your dash and you can use your existing keyfobs for. I had it installed, it was part of the deal when I bought the truck, he put it in for his 'cost' ($180 - cheap enough for me). I watched the guy do it, it took about 5 mins, unscrew 2 screws, unplug connectors, put remote in between connectors, program, screw, done. I'm not sure what/where you can get it though.

pall2509 10-06-2011 01:09 PM

My dealer updated old keys, I have 4 keys (fobs) to run truck, only 2 w/remote start.

hector22 10-09-2011 07:13 PM

My dealership said they could not reprogram my old key fobs, probably just lazy. Damn, i will deff go back and have them do it.

SS4Luck 10-09-2011 10:15 PM

How much is it to go back to the dealer and have the remote start installed? Im dreading winter

californiajed 10-09-2011 11:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SS4Luck (Post 632270)
How much is it to go back to the dealer and have the remote start installed?

FWIW, my dealer installed the OEM remote start for me when I bought the truck. He charged me $505 for it. I think that's $150 or so more than having it as an option from the factory. It came with two fobs that have the remote start button on them. Unlike you, I wanted it to cool down the truck when it sits in the sun!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger