DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   2010 Dodge Ram Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   Viper 5501 Remote Start Install (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=95338)

Schnitzer21 10-28-2011 06:01 PM

Viper 5501 Remote Start Install

I was looking into getting the Viper 5501 remote start system for my 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 and I was thinking about doing the install myself. Does anyone have any experience with installing a viper remote start system on the 2010's? I have a 4yr electronics degree so I am quite familiar with wiring, soldering, etc so that doesn't really deter me much, its just getting all the parts together right and programmed correctly! :) I would just have best buy do it but I can purchase the system for a hell of a lot cheaper online, and if I can install it myself it would be leaps and bounds cheaper. Any info is appreciated! Thanks guys! :smileup:

richbear808 10-29-2011 07:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Schnitzer21 (Post 645528)
I was looking into getting the Viper 5501 remote start system for my 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 and I was thinking about doing the install myself. Does anyone have any experience with installing a viper remote start system on the 2010's? I have a 4yr electronics degree so I am quite familiar with wiring, soldering, etc so that doesn't really deter me much, its just getting all the parts together right and programmed correctly! :) I would just have best buy do it but I can purchase the system for a hell of a lot cheaper online, and if I can install it myself it would be leaps and bounds cheaper. Any info is appreciated! Thanks guys! :smileup:

I had mine installed on my 2010. What I was told is that I needed more than just the install kit, I needed to buy a special chip to put in because they dont come with the chip, thats all I can tell you. Im a noob lol