DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Custom Chassis - Drive Line - Suspension - Wheels and Tires - LOWERING or STANDARD (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Need advice for my cut springs (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=98791)

snrusnak 12-14-2011 12:43 PM

Need advice for my cut springs

I have a question for you suspension guru's to maybe guide me in what to do... I have limited experience/knowledge on how to figure out ride height. I have a quad cab and I bought an extra set of RT springs to cut for the rear. They have the progressive, tightly wound coils at the top unlike my stock springs, so after cutting there is still a near flat surface to fit into the spring perch in the frame. I cut slowly in sections and ended up with a total of about 1.5 coils cut off. I was hoping for about 1.5" of drop, and ended up more at like 7/8" drop. I stopped cutting more off because the springs were becoming very loose at axle full extension and I was afraid if I cut anymore and hit a bump or something the springs could possibly fall out or get out of correct position. I have seen others with reg cabs that have cut 1.5 coils and got about 1.5 to 2 inches of drop. I'm guessing since I'm quad cab the extra weigh of the cab primarily rests of the front springs and not the rear, so the front is lower (I sort of verified this as my friend's reg cab RT and my brother's reg cab express both sit higher than mine in the front when stock). So I'm trying to figure out how to easily get another half inch. I could cut the springs more, and make axle limiting straps which isn't a big deal. My other though is that the stock shocks may be pushing the rear up a bit. Do you guys think if I got shorter shocks it would drop any more? I'm thinking about just unbolting the shocks to see if it makes a difference, and if it does them bu