DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum - View Single Post - Anyone ever done a gear change on a 2013 Ram?
View Single Post
  #2  
Old 08-22-2013, 05:33 PM
brandonjansen's Avatar
brandonjansen brandonjansen is offline
Moderator


 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 7,769
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram 3500 CCSB 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie Limited
Color: Mineral Grey Metallic
Rep Power: 12
Rep:2140
brandonjansen has a reputation beyond reputebrandonjansen has a reputation beyond reputebrandonjansen has a reputation beyond reputebrandonjansen has a reputation beyond reputebrandonjansen has a reputation beyond reputebrandonjansen has a reputation beyond reputebrandonjansen has a reputation beyond reputebrandonjansen has a reputation beyond reputebrandonjansen has a reputation beyond reputebrandonjansen has a reputation beyond reputebrandonjansen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

First off, I find it hard to believe that the dealership can't change the programming in the computer to correct your speedo. If they change change it for tire size they should be able to change it for gearing. Even if you have to do the math and fool the computer into thinking the tire size is different to correct the speedo... it can be done. I don't see why your dealership is telling you that it's going to throw a check engine code either.... that just doesn't make sense. What would throw the code?

Second, you can't swap gears in a 2012 and up Ram.... at least not without changing the front diff out. So very few guys have done it. I haven't heard of anyone doing it in a '13 yet so you probably aren't going to get any feedback there.

A tuner has the option to change your gear ratio and reprogram the computer. Currently the Bully Dog GT for Hemi Plus is the only tuner available for a 2013 Ram. I have one on my truck and used it to correct my speedo now with my larger tires. It took a little bit of screwing around, but I do have it bang on the money now according to my GPS.

First thing I would do if I was you is go back to your dealer and talk to them about reprogramming the speedo again. I'm sure they are capable of it. Even if it means doing it by changing the tire size in the computer. Otherwise you may need to talk to another dealership for a second opinion.
Reply With Quote