DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, & Solutions - Maintenance & Repair > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 4th Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Vendor Highlight! - Check these guys out for great deals on Parts and Accessories!
Total Load Control!
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
FGT Motorsport
Bayou Goat Mounts
Mopar Online Parts!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51  
Old 03-13-2013, 10:50 PM
GNIUS GNIUS is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 31
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Express
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
GNIUS is on a distinguished road
Default

68064479AB This is the wiring header that the dealership recommended. Does the retainer just clip in?
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 03-13-2013, 11:24 PM
jmr's Avatar
jmr jmr is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ofallon, MO
Posts: 436
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2016 RAM 1500 Express QC 4WD
Trim Level: Express Quad Cab
Color: White
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:74
jmr will become famous soon enough
Default

The mounting bracket/retainer installs under the headliner and is held in place with the 2 sunvisor screws by the mirror. Be sure to remove the 2 spacers that are up there now under the headliner because the retainer will replace them.
__________________

'16 RAM 1500 Express QC 4WD 5.7L, 8SPD, 3.21 W/LSD Red Calipers, K&N Filter, 4" AirBox Intake Tube, Cabin Air Filter, Leather Steering Wheel w/Radio Controls, Mopar Bed Liner/Mud Guards/Skid Plates, Lund Tri-Fold Cover, Black RAM Emblems, Homelink Overhead Console

Last edited by jmr; 03-13-2013 at 11:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 11-14-2013, 11:14 AM
Mopar Online Parts's Avatar
Mopar Online Parts Mopar Online Parts is offline
Mopar Online Parts
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA!
Posts: 1,377
Gender: Male
Vehicle: RAMz
Trim Level: N/A
Color: N/A
Rep Power: 0
Rep:47
Mopar Online Parts is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GNIUS View Post
68064479AB This is the wiring header that the dealership recommended. Does the retainer just clip in?

Curious has anyone been able to verify the above part number harness to include the overhead lamp wiring?


-Benny
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 11-17-2013, 04:40 PM
GNIUS GNIUS is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 31
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Express
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
GNIUS is on a distinguished road
Default

No, I ordered it. I think it is just the mirror. I am still looking for the overhead console wiring harness.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 11-17-2013, 05:19 PM
APSTRAM's Avatar
APSTRAM APSTRAM is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 50
Posts: 1,666
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2016 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Granite Crystal Metallic
Engine: 2013-20?? 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 370hp 800lb/ft (6-Speed Automatic)
Rep Power: 6
Rep:89
APSTRAM will become famous soon enough
Default

No wiring harness available due to the fact that the wiring is part of the headliner. Salvage yard may be your only option.

When I picked up a salvage overhead console for my 2011 I made sure to specify to them I wanted the plug pigtail to go with it.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 11-18-2013, 07:34 PM
Mopar Online Parts's Avatar
Mopar Online Parts Mopar Online Parts is offline
Mopar Online Parts
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA!
Posts: 1,377
Gender: Male
Vehicle: RAMz
Trim Level: N/A
Color: N/A
Rep Power: 0
Rep:47
Mopar Online Parts is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by APSTRAM View Post
No wiring harness available due to the fact that the wiring is part of the headliner. Salvage yard may be your only option.

When I picked up a salvage overhead console for my 2011 I made sure to specify to them I wanted the plug pigtail to go with it.
Thats what I had thought when seeing how there are so many different sales codes for the headliners then I saw this post.

Thanks for the update

-Benny
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 11-12-2014, 01:42 AM
krisbee krisbee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jacksonville. FL.
Posts: 29
Gender: Female
Vehicle: 2013 ram 1500
Trim Level: Express
Color: Silver
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
krisbee is on a distinguished road
Default

has anyone posted step by step pics. I'm stressed on cuting the headliner.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 11-12-2014, 06:52 PM
APSTRAM's Avatar
APSTRAM APSTRAM is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 50
Posts: 1,666
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2016 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Granite Crystal Metallic
Engine: 2013-20?? 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 370hp 800lb/ft (6-Speed Automatic)
Rep Power: 6
Rep:89
APSTRAM will become famous soon enough
Default

I have done this but do not have pictures. My suggestion is to start with the hole smaller than needed then work your way out. The mounting bracket will give you a good idea where the hole should be.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 12-20-2015, 11:00 AM
slentz's Avatar
slentz slentz is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 66
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Express
Color: Dark Blue
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
slentz is on a distinguished road
Default Cutting hole for overhead console

Cutting the hole in the headliner is a piece of cake. Start out with a hole 1/2" smaller than needed and trim from there. Use the console as your pattern I used a utility knife with a new blade and it cut like a hot knife through butter. The only thing I haven't done yet is gotten the garage door buttons to work. Can't find the wiring anywhere. BUT the map lights work and that is what I wanted. I simply spliced into existing power and ground. The only new wire I had to run was for constant power so the lights would also work when the buttons are pushed. The only reason I would like to get the garage door buttons to work is because that module came with the overhead console. I am going to try to make my own pigtail because I am thinking the buttons only need power.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
console, map light, over head, overhead

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 2
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors