DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 4.7 Liter V8


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 4.7 Liter V8 Discuss modifying your Dodge Ram with Performance Parts and Accessories!
Factory Spec: 4.7-liter V8 engine - 310 horsepower, 330 lb-ft of torque.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-16-2013, 05:00 PM
Billy Blaze Billy Blaze is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Springtown,Tx.
Posts: 2
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2003
Color: maroon
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Billy Blaze is on a distinguished road
Default 03 4.7 ram 1500 issues

Hey guys!
So I just bought a used 2003 Ram 1500 single cab short bed truck with just 50,000 miles on it.
Since I bought it, I came here and started looking at what would be some good bolt on mods for some HP gains.
I installed a K&N CAI, and put a cat back exhaust system on it.
My next move was the Superchips Flashpaq, so I ordered one and attempted to install it.
However....the Tuner was not working with my truck so I called SC and they informed me that on these trucks sometimes the Flashpaq will not talk to the onboard ECU which is the case with my truck.
We tried for about an hour to massage this thing to work with the ECU but it wasnt having it at all so I had to send the SC back yesterday.

Now I have a couple questions...
I have seen a lot of people have been replacing the stock intake with an 08+ intake manifold.
What all is needed to do this?
I have seen there is some sort of throttle body adaptor, and I would assume a gasket or two...and an 08+ intake manifold.
Is there anything else?

Also could I possibly replace the factory ECU and try the SC again? and if so are there any year models that arent plagued with this apparent voltage issue?

I have also thought about eventually replacing the engine with a 03 Hemi rebuilt motor...what all would need to be bought to accomplish this? add ons like things that bolt on to the motor.
Since my truck has such low mileage I think it would be a good investment to just work towards putting a Hemi in it and bypass all the futile attempts to get more power out of this motor.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, this is my first Dodge and I love the truck with the exception of having some minor electrical issue with it.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 03-18-2013, 01:10 PM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,341
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

Your best bet for power increase would be head work. The 08+ intake is good but your not getting a good bang/buck by the time you buy everything. An engine swap is doable but expensive and PITA. Dodge's computers are very sensitive, it's often hard to get everything wired and working correctly.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2013, 04:44 PM
Maddevill Maddevill is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Age: 56
Posts: 515
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Grey
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:25
Maddevill is on a distinguished road
Default

Just curious, what error did your Superchips tuner give you when you were trying to get it to connect with your truck? My SC won't communicate with my 4.7 either but I bought it used so I guess I'm hosed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2013, 05:23 PM
Billy Blaze Billy Blaze is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Springtown,Tx.
Posts: 2
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2003
Color: maroon
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Billy Blaze is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the response.
What would I need to do to the heads?
And would I have to buy a larger throttle body if head work is done?
Whats the cost for something like that?

Maddevil, I didnt get any error codes at all, SC just said it was a known problem and it just doesnt work if your truck has this issue...best bet is to try and resell it.
I know it sux, thats why I bought mine new, so I could return it if it didnt work....but then again I have bad luck.
I really wanted it to change shift points, I absolutely hate the transmission in my truck...its a mess and useless
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2013, 06:46 PM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,341
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

You don't HAVE to do anything. It's all a combination, if you do the head work it will increase power. If you do the larger TB it'll add to the power increase. The more you do the more power, especially when you do things in combination that all work together. It's all about how much you want to spend.

You can buy the heads from airram, they are VERY good. You could also take your heads to a local shop and have them work them over(port, polish, larger valves, etc). You could also mill them to achieve slightly higher compression ratio. Head work is fairly expensive but gives great results.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum