DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2010 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2010 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the new 2010 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 03-18-2013, 06:06 PM
Yotaman96 Yotaman96 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 30
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Yotaman96 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BWG56 View Post
The problem with your battery going dead might be because the computer does not recognize it and it continues to search for it instead of going to sleep. I had the same problem with my battery going dead after I had installed an OEM brake controller. The computer did not have it in its program and it would keep searching for it. If you change the radio I would think you would have to take it back to the dealer and have them reflash the computer with the vin# + the radio code.
One of the PDFs mentions assigning it to my VIN. The dealer said it shouldn't matter, but there's a lot they don't know.
__________________
2010 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 Sport
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-18-2013, 08:41 PM
BWG56's Avatar
BWG56 BWG56 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hummelstown, Pa.
Posts: 184
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Mango Tango
Rep Power: 0
Rep:19
BWG56 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yotaman96 View Post
One of the PDFs mentions assigning it to my VIN. The dealer said it shouldn't matter, but there's a lot they don't know.
It took my dealer a couple days to figure it out and once he added the brake controler code to my vin# and down loaded it to my truck it cure the dead battery and now the EVIC recognizes it also. I'll bet if the dealer would try it, it would solve your problem. These vehicles are only programed with the options included with the truck. The computer is smart enough to know something is hooked up, but can't recognize what it is if its not in the software and will continue to search for it.
The dealer did charge me like $85 to upload the brake controller code but I thought it was worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-18-2013, 09:22 PM
Yotaman96 Yotaman96 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 30
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Yotaman96 is on a distinguished road
Default

I remember having to explain to them how to add the trailer brake controller to my VIN too. At the time, they had no idea it could be done.
__________________
2010 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 Sport
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-22-2013, 12:26 PM
Iqudayo's Avatar
Iqudayo Iqudayo is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hopatcong, NJ
Age: 48
Posts: 860
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 2500HD
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray Metallic
Engine: 2007-2011 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 350hp 650lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:563
Iqudayo is a name known to allIqudayo is a name known to allIqudayo is a name known to allIqudayo is a name known to allIqudayo is a name known to allIqudayo is a name known to all
Default

So how did you add the brake controller... hmmmm
__________________

To many mods to list ask and I shall give you all the information, and help I can.
Everything from outside to interior.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-22-2013, 03:01 PM
Yotaman96 Yotaman96 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 30
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Yotaman96 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iqudayo View Post
So how did you add the brake controller... hmmmm
I had the harness under the dash. Plugged it in and it worked. Had the dealer add it to the vin and the info showed on the dic just like it would as a factory installed piece.
__________________
2010 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 Sport
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-24-2013, 08:42 AM
astroman54's Avatar
astroman54 astroman54 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Jersey
Age: 60
Posts: 181
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Water Blue
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:52
astroman54 will become famous soon enough
Default

The problem with the GPS not working may be this:

I believe that the 2011 model year, Dodge began putting a combined Sirius/GPS antenna on the truck. In 2010 I believe it was separate antennas. You may want to swap out the roof antenna with a newer one. I had to do this when I put an RHR radio in my 2009.

Andy
__________________
Andy
2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport Deep Water Blue Crew Cab Hemi 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-24-2013, 09:02 AM
Yotaman96 Yotaman96 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 30
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Yotaman96 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by astroman54 View Post
The problem with the GPS not working may be this:

I believe that the 2011 model year, Dodge began putting a combined Sirius/GPS antenna on the truck. In 2010 I believe it was separate antennas. You may want to swap out the roof antenna with a newer one. I had to do this when I put an RHR radio in my 2009.

Andy
That's exactly what I was thinking. Thank you.
__________________
2010 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 Sport
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-27-2013, 06:22 PM
magiaone magiaone is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oxford MI
Posts: 1
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Deep Water Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
magiaone is on a distinguished road
Default

Correct for 2011 upwards the antenna was combined with the Sirius roof mount for the RHB and RHR. The RER still uses the nav antenna in the upper instrument panel.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:48 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum