DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2013 Dodge Ram Forum
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

2013 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2013 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-01-2013, 10:47 PM
yankeeslover yankeeslover is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: ny
Posts: 19
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 ram 1500
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
yankeeslover is on a distinguished road
Default why program new brake controller? mine works without flash

I installed the oem controller today. Pulled my camper and when I squeeze the controller the brakes in camper work. Im assuming they also work when I hit my brakes? So then why have dealer flash it if it works fine?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-01-2013, 10:57 PM
Explorer Rob's Avatar
Explorer Rob Explorer Rob is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Age: 48
Posts: 1,282
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn
Color: Black Gold / White Gold
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:264
Explorer Rob is a jewel in the roughExplorer Rob is a jewel in the roughExplorer Rob is a jewel in the rough
Default

Maybe so you can monitor and control it with your EVIC?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2013, 07:34 AM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 15
Rep:4373
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If you have Evic you might want to have it flashed, you get better control and information from the brake controller, but it is not necessary to have it flashed, people who do not have the Evic do not need it flashed, it will work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2013, 09:52 AM
CharlieL CharlieL is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 58
Posts: 168
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 4x4 Crew Cab
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:100
CharlieL will become famous soon enoughCharlieL will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeeslover View Post
I installed the oem controller today. Pulled my camper and when I squeeze the controller the brakes in camper work. Im assuming they also work when I hit my brakes? So then why have dealer flash it if it works fine?
Just curious - do you have access to all functions as if factory installed? Such as - trailer type & brake type in Uconnect settings & brake gain display in EVIC. Also, do you have the ability to adjust the gain? IMO that it just applies the trailer brakes is one thing, having it apply the right amount of braking is another.

Last edited by CharlieL; 05-02-2013 at 11:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2013, 10:41 AM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 15
Rep:4373
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Oh and also if you have Evic and have it flashed you will see on your Evic display when it is working, you don't have to look down at your dash bottom to what its doing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors